64 Brooklyn, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I would say I am laid back, but focused. I have had a contemporary art gallery for over 25 years and was a painter/Univ. prof. teaching painting/drawing before that, so art is important in one form or another. Also music- worked for bands( Grateful Dead, others) and played in bands for years. Still play guitar. Basically a strong connection to all the arts, love opera, dance, theater. Gallery is downtown in NYC on the LES. And family is important- I have 3 grown children that live away. Also always important- kindness. compassion, humor. Politically liberal. Enjoy the country as much as the city. I'm looking for a woman that is happy with who they are, where they are at and has the energy to try new things and places. Like most people I see on here I love people with a sense of humor. I enjoy laughing at myself and most situations. Often go to MOMA, New Museum , The Whitney to see films and exhibits. Would like to find a partner that is curious, brave, optimistic and honest.

I go upstate NY to Narrowsburg often - small town along the Delaware River, where I have a farmhouse I am fixing up. Really beautiful and relaxing. Also my 7 yr old Aussie " Yoshi" is very happy there and has set out to befriend the local deer. Go to Europe often-Ireland (My Sligo house) and France(have a derelict house there also) and of course other spots. Like growing orchids. Love books both as objects and to read or look at. My grandfather had a bookstore in the Bronx.
What I’m doing with my life
Well, trying to make a small difference locally, globally. Trying to develop more skills in the kindness and compassion department. Working on small personal goals also- giving away more things, playing better guitar, gardening more, simplifying, taking more courses exploring things I am curious about, longer walks, learn French.
I’m really good at
I enjoy cooking, gardening, playing guitar, reading, growing orchids, writing and I think I am pretty good at these activities. I like story telling and enjoy The Moth Radio Hour. Finding and supporting developing artists is a constant education and re-evaluation of my established ideas regarding my world.
The first things people usually notice about me
My twinkly eyes? laughing? White hair? Third eye? Don't know you'd have to ask the people.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Love Italian and Japanese, Mexican, Asian, French, Vegetarian food. Really anything other than fast food. Neighborhood restaurants.
Films: Intouchables, Fantastic Mr. Fox, Big Lebowski, GroundHog Day, Truffaut, Godard, Wes Anderson, film noir, documentaries.
Opera at the Met- usually get season tix
BAM Next Wave Festival- ditto
Public Theater- sporadically
Acoustic folk and blues live- Jalopy Theater in Red Hook and Poisson Rouge and City Winery- often
Classical chamber music live
Dirty Projectors, Wilco, Cat Power, Miles Davis, Grateful Dead, Willie Nelson, Chet Baker, Ryan Adams, Eric Satie, Chopin, Steve Earle, Richard Thompson, Dylan lots of other music.
Robertson Davies, Dalai Lama and Thomas Bernhard also non- fiction and travel books,
Book of Mormon- great play, off off broadway or BAM for Theater
The six things I could never do without
Seeing my children
I spend a lot of time thinking about
projects- art shows, music shows, home fix-it, traveling to warm water locations, starting an artist residency, basketball. trying to make a positive difference in little things. forming community, working on my writing.
On a typical Friday night I am
Going out to dinner with friends or perhaps a movie or staying home and making a nice dinner and watching a movie. reading.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'll tell you anything.
You should message me if
You think we could have a fun time together