37 Reston, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Update March 2014: The effort-vs-return rate on using this site to meet people, romantically or otherwise, is so dismally low that I will generally not be sending out 1st contact messages anymore. I'll leave the profile up in case anybody wants to contact & meet me. I have far better results meeting people through mutual friends, parties, events, etc. and there's no shortage of those pretty much every weekend.

I'll begin with my job, since this is the D.C. area and that's all YOU PEOPLE care about anyway: I'm a Computer Engineer who programs FPGAs using VHDL hardware programming language. Bonus points to anybody who has the slightest clue what any of this means. I've learned not to describe it in detail as it makes people yawn and/or stare off into space.

I don't care about fashion, so most of YOU D.C. PEOPLE don't want to be seen with me.

I'm Agnostic in that I don't think we know enough about where we came from to draw any definite conclusions. Scientific research will give us more real answers to these problems and until that time, I don't think that believing in stories like the Flying Spaghetti Monster does anybody any good.

Musically I'm very much into downtempo electronic music trip-hop and various other styles of electronic music (breakbeat, jazzy or atmospheric drum n' bass), some rock/metal, a little indie rock. Working at a college radio station helped me delve into those and many other styles of music. I love introducing people to new styles of music that they love but just don't know about yet. I wish I had more time to explore and find new music.

Live music and concerts are good fun. Too bad most of the bands I like don't come around here too often.

I took Tae Kwon Do and want to get back into that sometime soon. Occasionally go hiking, up for most any outdoor physical activity. Maybe when I'm finished with grad school later this year I'll take up something to keep me in shape again.

I can be the life of the party or keep to myself, depending on the circumstances. Sometimes it takes a little bit of coaxing before I'll talk easily with new people and sometimes not. It depends on many things happening on/around that particular time.

A self-proclaimed empath, I seem to have a knack for seeing people's personalities, motivations, range of possible actions, etc. after talking/observing them for a very short while, sometimes at first glance.

Very much into video games. Old, new, it don't matter! Been playing them since age 2 and not about to stop anytime soon. I won and owned a Pole Position 2 arcade machine for about 4 years, but had to get rid of it due to space constraints.

Travel. Been to many places, in and out of the country. Would love to go to many more.

I think I've done a good job describing myself, but just in case, I'll put here what a longtime friend said about me:

"I've known Greg for many years and think he is one of the most open people I have ever met, honest, blunt, kind, over-protective, silly, loving, a total computer geek, bright and witty and has a fun childlike aspect to his personality."

I'm apparently really good at parenting and it comes naturally to me.

I noticed that I generally match highly with these types of women: polyamorous, gothic, teachers, graduate students, and bisexuals. Unfortunately I'm not compatible with polyamorous women as far as a relationship goes.

Just an observation: People tend to put too much stock in finding other people with shared interests. I always thought that my ideal woman would be someone who I could play video games with, and/or likes the same music as I do. Well, I found a woman who is into both of these things and we absolutely were NOT compatible!

I am silly, ambitious, and focused
What I’m doing with my life
Going for a Masters in Computer Engineering (should be done by the end of 2009!), focusing on my career and my family, enjoying music, keeping friendships alive and meeting new people when I have the time to.
I’m really good at
Video games. And humming back a song that I've heard once, several months/years ago. And finding information on just about anything in a matter of seconds. And wasting time/procrastinating.
The first things people usually notice about me
I think most people notice the long hair.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
a) Erm... this is bad, but I don't read books much. I do read online a lot, keep up with current events, techie news, blogs, webcomics (Perry Bible Fellowship, Sexy Losers, XKCD, etc.) RSS rules.

b) Fight Club, Seven, Old Boy, Star Wars (4 through 6), The Animation Show, Idiocracy. Documentaries are usually interesting to watch. We don't have cable or satellite so the only TV shows I watch are at other people's houses. Most everything I've seen on Adult Swim is hilarious.

c) Downtempo electronic, trip-hop, atmospheric drum n' bass. This list could go on forever, so I'll just do a best-of off the top of my head: Quantic, Carbon Based Lifeforms, Thievery Corporation, Thunderball, Swandive, Puracane, Crustation, Artefact, Frost, Archive, LTJ Bukem, & bunches more.

d) Anything tasty and nutritious! Not picky when it comes to food, I like most everything. The only two foods/flavors I hate are liver and mint.
The six things I could never do without
1. Foooood 2. Family/friends 3. Komputer 4. Intarweb 5. Music 6. Video games
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The future.
On a typical Friday night I am
Usually out. It varies: friend's house, bar/restaurant, or some other event.
You should message me if
You think you should. Trust your inner voice. Unless it's telling you to drive an 18-wheeler onto a crowded sidewalk. Then don't trust it. At all. Ever.