51Somerville, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
44 years old
bi woman
restless, insatiable curiosity about the world
restless, insatiable hunger for justice
love to laugh, often, even (especially?) at myself

After living in five different cities in three different countries over the past decade, I've finally settled in Boston where I work at what may very well be my dream job.

During all the moving around, dating wasn't my biggest priority, but now I'm looking for someone to share my big brain and big heart with. Ultimately I'd like to find a life partner, but let's start with coffee and conversation and see where things go.
What I’m doing with my life
I work as an administrator at a university gender studies program -- a job that feeds my heart, soul, and mind as well as paying the rent. It also doesn't hurt that I have fantastic, friendly co-workers and get to work with smart, politically engaged students.

I also have a low-key freelance practice doing editing and writing coaching with academic writers who are working on book-length manuscripts.
I’m really good at
instigating, rabble-rousing, sloganeering, propagandizing, musing, snoozing, reading, writing, cooking, speaking Swedish, playing fiddle, tracking down information both on and off the internet
The first things people usually notice about me
It must be that I look non-threatening since I get stopped for directions all the time.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: I mostly read non-fiction, especially about science or travel. But I also enjoy genre fiction (science fiction, mysteries, even the occasional romance novel). Here are a few of my all-time favorites. Lost in Place, The Emperor of Scent, The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down, The Invention of Tradition, Songbook, Spoken Here, A Round-Heeled Woman, Home Cooking, Lone Star Swing, Benny and Shrimp, Let the Right One In, The Ivory Trilogy, Stieg Larsson's Millenium mysteries (Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Girl Who Played with Fire, Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest).

Movies: Amelie, Together, About a Boy, How to Steal a Million, Wait Until Dark, Charade, Let the Right One In, Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.

[what, no tv category?!]
TV: Burn Notice, Bones, Big Bang Theory, P.O.V., Global Voices, Independent Lens, nature documentaries (especially about octopuses or tornadoes), Castle, Ugly Betty, The Good Wife, Friday Night Lights.

Music: After a few years where I listened almost exclusively to Swedish and Norwegian folk music (I know, nerdiest musical interest ever, but, in my defense, I play Scandinavian folk music on the fiddle), I'm now rediscovering my love of all sorts of music. Some of the recent additions to my iPod: Robyn, K'Naan, Neil Finn, Bartok and Ravel Chamber music, Aterciopelados, Tom Zé, Dixie Chicks, Carlos Vives, Bassekou Kouyate and Ngoni Ba, Bebe, Issa Bagayogo, Salif Keita, Bajofondo, Rupa & the April Fishes, Missy Elliot, Nuru Kane, Rokia Traore, Angélique Kidjo, English Beat, Elvis (both Presley and Costello).

Food: Adore southeast Asian food (Thai, Burmese, Vietnamese, Indonesian). Spent a year in France learning to cook at the Cordon Bleu School, so it's safe to say I love French food. Dumplings of all sorts (dim sum, manti, pirogies, ravioli, gyoza, kroppkakor). Bacon. Scrapple. Stinky cheese. Oysters.
Six things I could never do without
If pushed, I could probably do without these, but life would be considerably less enjoyable:

something to read
something to write on and with
air travel
sensible shoes
something delicious to eat
I spend a lot of time thinking about
culture (more pop than high), politics, books, words (in English and otherwise), delicious food (especially Thai), learning languages, science in/as culture, fascinating organisms (cephalopods, xenarthrans, myxomycetes, fungi, and dogs), how much more fun life is now that I'm no longer trying to be perfect, why people do the things they do (in another life I called this studying cultural anthropology), why I like parentheses so much
On a typical Friday night I am
I've become more of a home body in the past few years. If I go out, it's usually for a movie, music, or a reading. I might also stop at one of my favorite restaurants to get dinner. Mostly, I tend to stay in on Fridays doing any of the following: catching up with distant friends on the internet, reading, writing, watching one of my favorite TV shows on-demand.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Things I used to know how to do, but have now forgotten:

twirl a baton
speak German
dance ballet
play banjo
identify any wildflower I saw

Also, I don't own a car and have no immediate plans to acquire one.

If you're interested in knowing anything more personal, email me or suggest a cup of coffee. I don't get any more revealing here since people I know from work (thankfully not students) have ended up in my list of potential matches.
You should message me if
You believe the way to a woman's heart is through her ears. I love nothing more than an intense give-and-take of a good conversation.

You're at least liberal on the US spectrum. If you think that abortion is murder, gay marriage is an abomination, the US is post-racial now that we have an African-American president, and that poor people need to pick themselves up by their bootstraps, we'd probably just spend our time arguing.

You don't necessarily believe in karma, but you treat other people as if you do.

You're pro-intellectual.


I'm not a stickler about grammar and spelling. I've worked as an editor, and I know that even the most brilliant people makes typos. I've also lived outside the US, and know that English is not everyone's first language. That said, I can be swayed by an amusing or intriguing turn of phrase.

Gender plays a bigger role in whom I'm attracted to than sex or sexuality. In other words, I'm usually most attracted to folks on the butch or masculine end of the gender presentation spectrum, whether they're gay, straight, bi, cis, trans, intersex...
The two of us