gav4n
28 Cupertino, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
gav4n
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'd love our species to survive the next hundred years. We finally have the technology to begin spreading to the stars, but we also now have the all-too-easy ability to wipe ourselves from history.

If you feel the same, fantastic. We've got a wild ride ahead of us.
What I’m doing with my life
I founded a social virtual reality company here in the Bay Area and spend most of my days working with, and dreaming about, the future of VR.

Outside of work we might run into each other at a science talk or a crazy festival.. or hopefully a science talk at a crazy festival!
I’m really good at
Generally having epic conversations and getting computers to do interesting things.

I was invited to Forbes' 30 Under 30 last year for my work on VR :-)
The six things I could never do without
1. A main quest
2. Interesting housemates
3. Awesome colleagues
4. Forward-looking communities
5. Audiobooks
6. Festival adventures
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How virtual reality will redefine computation and society.
What we can do to reduce existential risk
When synthetic biology, artificial intelligence and other exponential technologies will take off in a big way
Where we need the effective altruism meme to take root
How science and rationality can drive morality
On a typical Friday night I am
Having a great conversation with new friends, brainstorming under the stars, or heading out on a random adventure.

I live with the wonderful AuroraGC in a great intentional community.. where we just got a new hot tub.. so also a likely spot!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
There's very little I won't admit, but you'll have to ask!
You should message me if
You want to save the galaxy. Or study something fascinating. Or make awesome things.

(Also, it's going to be good if my Relationship Type as listed is the kind of relationship that you are also interested in)
More