70San Rafael, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I was born and raised in the San Jose/Los Gatos area and have been a resident in the Bay Area for most of my life except for college and the time I spent fulfilling my military obligation.
I am a happy, inquisitive and empathetic person by nature and feel fortunate that I have been able to travel a little and experience quite a spectrum of what life has to offer. Also, I have been lucky to have been able to channel my entrepreneurial energy into several publishing ventures beyond working in the corporate environment in the early years of my career. I also do my best to “pay it forward” and I have been involved in various community activities over the years.

I am a widower (November 2010) who is very proud of his three adult and thriving children as well as my great friends.
I have high hopes that I will be able to create a new stage in my life that is full of interesting, beautiful and enriching experiences.
Ideally, I would like to find someone that shares many of my values and sensibilities…yet a relationship where we are both open to learn from one another and the world around us. Said another way, I am looking for someone with a heart, someone who is passionate about life as well as someone that has the strength to be honest, trusting and vulnerable. And, since I am reaching for the moon here, how about a good sense of humor and play with a need to be physically active too? BTW - I have every intention to match these same set of values, traits and strengths in character.
What I’m doing with my life
Right now, I have my hands full starting a media business for the IT field while at the same time working on a more ambitious project of creating an international non-profit media organization.

In between, I make time to keep fit (tennis, long walks like “the Stanford Dish”, the YMCA's weights and yoga and starting the unforgiving game of golf again) and I also attend to family matters and the usual household/yard responsibilities. I feel fortunate that I am in excellent health (no broken bones or pills) and that I am able to enjoy this best weather of the year (August thru October). I love my caprese salad and all the fresh produce! I am planning a trip or two (where I can use my camera) and I also like to follow various sport teams players and events.
I also love to listen to all types of music (especially piano and my long history of following certain types of jazz ensembles and specific musicians) and also like to “just relax” by reading mostly an eclectic range of non-fiction or enjoying a good new movie or a classic film. I also volunteer a little and occasionally attend a lecture (ex. World Affairs Council) or take a continuing studies course at Stanford.
I’m really good at
I think I am good at adapting to any environment or social situation. I actually believe that I can learn something from just about anyone. Also, I can usually hold my own in most sports and competitive situations and can “think outside the box” to find a solution. And, I know that I am good at maintaining a healthy perspective on life as well as a sense of humor no matter what the circumstances.
The first things people usually notice about me
I hope that I come across as friendly and approachable…and when the opportunity presents itself, I like to contribute my perspective in a positive, relevant and where appropriate, a humorous manner.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
(which are currently on my nightstand in various stages of being read)

“Younger Next Year”, “Wine and War”, two books on Digital Photography, Bill Moyer’s latest book, a book about Mickey Mantle, Steven Hawking’s “The Grand Design”, and one tennis and two golf instruction books.


I enjoy all types of food particularly Thai, Indian, Japanese, Chinese and of course, Italian and French. I also love the occasional home cooked BBQ steak or ribs…or In & Out Burger when in a hurry, tapas at Joya or a chocolate, chocolate milkshake at the Palo Alto Creamery in its cold metal mixing container! I can only think of a couple of things that are better in life. I like and have prepared just about every type of dish from simple to difficult and have been known to even bake a lemon meringue pie (it's good).


A quick list of favorites that come to mind are “Cinema Paradiso”, “A Fish called Wanda”, "Best in Show", “Lawrence of Arabia”, “The Paper Chase”, “Goldfinger” and a current favorite, “Midnight in Paris”…which goes well after seeing the Gertrude Stein exhibit and a meal at The Left Bank in Menlo Park . And, I really enjoy seeing the classics at the Stanford Theatre which put a perspective on the many mediocre films out there. There are just too many of my favorite "classics" to list here.

I keep the car radio on several music stations (rock, classical,
country and jazz) besides the mainstays of KCBS and NPR. “Car Talk” is great fun as is “Says You”, and “Wait wait...don’t tell me” when I have time to listen). When the Giants are playing, it’s KNBR. As far as the tube is concerned, “Jeopardy”, the nightly news and many PBS programs seem to be where I end-up. Oh, and its “Seinfeld”, if I can’t find anything else or I’m too lazy to get up and do something else.
Six things I could never do without
1. My three children (2 young men and 1 young lady)
2. My great friends
3. Sports and exercise
4. The arts (especially music and the visual arts).
5. Travel with its history (also photography with its eye on life and what is in the present).
6. A morning cup of coffee and the newspaper
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I’ll be honest and say, I think about everything. But, lately I think about creating my new business and a proposed non-profit. That said, I also like to think about the memorable sights during a recent trip to Europe (Germany, The Netherlands, Belgium and Spain) and a fly fishing trip to Montana with my two old buddies.
Thankfully, I don’t have to put much time into worrying about my kids since they are all launched and I need only to enjoy watching their lives unfold now.
Also, I have spent entirely too much time thinking about what I should write for this profile. (not happy with the only photo I could find) but at least I finished it.
On a typical Friday night I am
Right now my Friday nights are usually pretty boring and unpredictable. Often it is dinner out alone or dinner in with my daughter or occasionally out with friends. Or, more boring still, catching-up on paperwork while watching the Giants game. This stage will be changing soon. As George Zimmer of the Men’s Wearhouse says, “I guarantee it”.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Go Giants!
You should message me if
you would like to.
The two of us