64Calgary, Canada
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
One thing I am is a person who hates computers. I don't really want to email, text, or IM. But love, love, love face-to-face or telephone conversations. I love literature (and I love reading actual books as opposed to using an e-reader). Favourite movies are usually those that speak to the human condition and ordinary folk overcoming adversity- Groundhog Day, Local Hero, The King's Speech, A Single Man are a few titles. Most recent movie seen was Life of Pi. And I enjoy IMAX documentaries (sort of a safe adventure).

I belong to a book club. I love to travel (Europe and North America mainly) to see the sights and learn history. I enjoy cooking for others and entertaining in my home. Live theatre and movies are great. And I love to dance. I have dabbled in the dance forms of other cultures - African, Belly Dance, Folk Dancing.

I am not interested in being a nurse or a purse (a woman of advancing years told me that men in her age group are looking for one of these 2 things). I want to be a good friend and maybe even life-partner (I'm very good at those sorts of relationships). I would like to have fun together, discussing ideas, experiences, travelling together through life.
What I’m doing with my life
I am working full-time in health care, and loving it. I have 2 adult children who live in other cities. I read, bicycle, paddle a canoe and get together with friends. I belong to a dragon-boat team and a book club.
I’m really good at
I'm really good at listening. I am also good at managing my own finances, cooking decent meals. I am a good friend and I aspire to be a person of integrity, wisdom, kindness, and humour.
The first things people usually notice about me
People usually comment on my great smile.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Favourite books: Therapy by David Lodge, Bel Canto by Ann Patchett, Zorba the Greek by Nikos Kazantzakis.
Favourite movies: Groundhog Day, Local Hero, Under the Tuscan Sun (I love movies about middle-aged women finding love).
Music: Motown and Doo Wop as well as world music (gypsy, middle-eastern)
Food: I am an omnivore and, while I eat less meat than many in our culture, I have no intention of ever becoming a vegetarian. I love tapas, paella, Thai and Indian food.
Six things I could never do without
love, my children, books, freedom, humour, and our wonderful planet.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
My family and the changes that life has brought to us, how to do the most good I can while I am on this planet,
On a typical Friday night I am
either out with a friend to a movie or else curled up in bed reading a book or watching comedy.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
If it is private, then you need to know me real well before I entrust you with it.
You should message me if
You should message me if you are a person of integrity, kindness, intelligence, humour, and would enjoy good conversation.
The two of us