groundstrokes
62 Manhattan, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
groundstrokes
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm a midwesterner transplanted to New York long ago. Still have a little twang. I am NOT a God-fearing Christian woman; nor do I intend to become one, so please don't contact me if that's the kind of gal you're seeking. During the school year, I teach. During the summer you might find me revving up my Spanish in the north of Spain, volunteering at the tennis courts, or making my way through more of the non-white, male-Anglo-Saxon literary canon.
What I’m doing with my life
In the practical sense, teaching English raising my daughter (19), trying to have a social conscience.

In the cosmic sense, trying to maintain the balance between what I put out in the universe and what I glean.
I’m really good at
Migration of the soul, listening, finding the ridiculous in the tragic, writing, editing, evaluating ice cream, making eye contact with babies.
The first things people usually notice about me
Blonde hair, nice smile.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
As I Lay Dying, The Song of Solomon, Waiting for Godot, The Metamorphosis, Chekhov, Yeats, The Virgin Suicides, Housekeeping, The Human Stain, Shakespeare

The Lives of Others, Annie Hall, Psycho, On the Waterfront, Fearless Vampire Killers, Unforgiven

Laura Nyro, Amy Winehouse, Neil Young, K.D. Lang, Bonnie Raitt, Bob Dylan, The Band, The Zombies, Dolly Parton, Willie Nelson, Joan Armatrading, Aretha Franklin

ice cream, blueberries, jarlsberg, quinoa, avocados, chocolate
The six things I could never do without
literature
family
friends that knew me when
court time
tofu in all its guises and disguises
the possibility of surprise
More