31 Mountain View, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I was born and raised in Tulsa. Got sick of Oklahoma and went to a decent school up in the North East to get an education. I found that it was far too cold for me there and decided to move back to the South's western fringes. Boy was that a mistake. Now I've decided to move out West to get some more awesome experience.

I wish they would offer Unitarian Universalism as a religion type. Or Humanist. Or something to that extent.

As far as what I'm interested in. Biology, Linguistics, Computer Science, Technology, Books on the subjects mentioned before. Economics can be a good time.

Trying to be more active, I tried paragliding this summer. Boy what a rush. And kayaking. That was fun, but that was back in Arkansas, and I don't have a boat here (yet?). Since I've moved to California, I've tried speed skating and martial arts (again). Nothing like a good race and hand to hand combat to get the ole blood flowing.
What I’m doing with my life
Right now, I've since finished paying out the ridiculous cost of a college education at an elite university. I'm not mostly confused about what to do with my career and my new found free income.

I'm trying to be more active. Right now I'm going to a trainer at the gym. In the past I've done martial arts (Kali/Jeet Kun Do), indoor short track speed skating, and kayaking. Each is worth a try, but with the trainer I'm starting to grow out some muscle groups so I'm pretty happy.
I’m really good at
remembering random trivia, nonsequitors, dead-pan, and dry sarcastic wit.
The first things people usually notice about me
I am usually a fairly quiet person. I enjoy listening and watching others more than being the center of attention.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books are always helpful. My main genres are usually fantasy and science fiction. Heinlein, Niven, George RR Martin, Stephenson, Orson Scott Card, list goes on and on. I enjoy the stray pop-economics book and linguistics book from time to time.

Movies are not quite as fun as books, but I still watch quite a few of them. Standard schtuff really. If you can remember a movie called "Buying the Cow." I enjoy the younger dry humor/sarcastic actors a bit. You know Zooey Deschanel. To some extent Joseph Gordon-Levitt. It is always fun to see.

Music is also a good time. I'm dipping more and more into the indie musicland but I'm having a hard time finding cool and awesome bands. If you can recommend a few that'd be super awesome. I'll share the names of the bands I've found that are equally awesome. I have quite a bit of world music as well. Arabic, French, Japanese, etc.

Food. As much as I'd like to be a vegetarian, I just can't do it. I eat very small amounts of beef nowadays. My main poison is chicken. As for types of food. World food is always good. I can't wait for Thanksgiving and Christmas to roll by so I can get awesome and delicious food from my family. Mm mm.
The six things I could never do without
Impossible to say!
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How best to make things awesome!

Why I should be exercising right now. Martial arts and speed skating make me want to condition more.
On a typical Friday night I am
chatting online with college friends, going to a movie, or perhaps playing around on the computer.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I had a deathly fear of escalators as a child. I still cringe a bit when i step on one.
You should message me if
You think you're cool and/or awesome. You found typos in my profile! You enjoy discussing anything and agreeing to disagree. You find linguistics interesting and want to discuss about it!

Also! I'm new-ish to the bay area and I'd love to meet new people in general. Perhaps some adventuring is in order. I love trying new things, but trying new things solo kind of blows.