62 Aurora, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm a "third culture kid." I was a corporate "brat." I lived in Cuba, The Philippines, and Colombia growing up and my exposure to other cultures early on had a profound, and positive, effect on my life. As a result I have often felt I was not one thing or the other. I never had the average American "growing up" experience but I wouldn't change the way I did grow up, either. I loved my life!

I've learned a lot about myself and the world around me in recent years and have achieved some peace of mind and acceptance of who and why I am. I love art, sports (baseball!), music, TRAVEL, my dog/family/friends, walking and being outdoors, intellectual conversations, and on and on.

And I've been told I have a pretty wicked sense of humor.
What I’m doing with my life
I've become more involved in humanitarian acts. Nothing like looking outside of yourself to change your perspective. I have a particular soft spot for Habitat for Humanity and have become more involved with Habitat through the Unitarian Universalist church I attend.

I am also learning how to play the banjo! It has been on my bucket list since my early teens and I love the music that just jumps out of it. I'm not very good at this point; however, I'm determined to learn.
I’m really good at
I think I'm a pretty intuitive person. It seems we all have a need to be listened to, to be valued (I know I do!) and I try very hard to do that for others.
The first things people usually notice about me
My eyes. Or my laugh.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
To Kill a Mockingbird - both movie and book
Say Anything - movie
Garden State - movie
Blade Runner - movie
Harold and Maude - movie (60's!)
South Pacific - musical
Books: John Adams; Lincoln: A Team of Rivals; various science fiction
Recent music group faves: The Decemberists, Snow Patrol, Coldplay, Head and the Heart, Mumford and Sons, Caribbean Salsa music
Food: Cuban and other Caribbean, most Asian, grilled seafood, some Mexican
The six things I could never do without
There always has to be compassion in my life. We are surrounded by people and animals who don't lead happy lives and I believe we have to take care of each other. I'm inquisitive and intellectually curious. I always want to know the why of things! I'm happiest when surrounded by kind people. Kind people make me a better person. And, of course, the more love there is in my life makes me a more loving person.

And when I can get to a beach quickly I'm a pretty happy girl!
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I follow politics and philosophy and my views would currently be described as liberal/progressive. I like to chew the fat. I think change is frequently a good thing and I'm working to bring more positive change into my life. And I also think about what I can do to have more fun! Life can become too serious! I'd love to have a traveling partner, somebody to go to baseball games with - a relationship we can both enjoy. Let's see what happens. . .
On a typical Friday night I am
Working at Denver International Airport! I "retired" from Frontier Airlines, which just means I found a new job, quit the airline biz AND, because I was a long term, loyal employee, I was still able to keep my flying bennies. And now I work in a government job . . . at the airport!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Hmmm. . .
You should message me if
You like what your read. . .