hetalksinmaths
35Chicago, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
hetalksinmaths
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm an East Coast transplant (yes, I'm from Jersey - it's not as bad as people say) looking for smart awesome people to do smart awesome stuff with.

I'm really quiet at first and it takes me a while to get to know people – the joys of being an introvert – but once I do I'm witty, caring, and insightful.

I pretty much have an insatiable need to create and fix stuff, whether that's websites, comics, maintaining my bike, or something totally different.
What I’m doing with my life
Currently paying the bills as a code monkey.

I'm a pretty avid board gamer. I like to play just about anything but I really like Euro-style strategy games like Settlers of Catan.

I volunteer at an animal shelter once a week. I'm a huge dog lover and although I don't have any at the moment, it's definitely something I'm considering! I enjoy biking, so I'd love to bike with you too!

Also: hockey, tea, pub trivia, frisbee, reading, cooking, and playing guitar.
I’m really good at
Remembering totally random stuff.
Telling dogs that they're dogs.
Telling small dogs that they're small.
Teaching people stuff (at the animal shelter, new board games, etc.).
Cooking chicken stir-fries.
The first things people usually notice about me
My sense of humor tends to come out pretty quickly. A lot of people also tend to think of me as being really laid-back and mellow. One of the best compliments I've received was from someone who told me she thought I was Zen.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Music - Everything from Iron Maiden to ambient trance music to Radiohead. I also have an almost embarrassingly strong enjoyment of 8-bit video game-style music.

Honestly not much of a movie or TV person. I haven't had a TV in years and haven't missed it.

Books - The Hitchhiker's Guide Series, Ender's Game, Snow Crash, The Diamond Age, Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance, Imagine, Quiet, Othello, and Hamlet, to name a few.

Food - I eat a lot of things but I'm a particularly a big fan of stir-fries, tea, and sushi. I may have been Asian in a past life. I also make some pretty awesome pancakes.
Six things I could never do without
Tea (never been much of a coffee person)
Public Transit
Boardgames
My iPhone
My bike
Friends
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How can we make technology easier and more user-friendly? How much have we given up in pursuit of a convenient and trouble-free life, and is such a thing even attainable? How many licks DOES it take to get to the center of a Tootsie Roll Tootsie Pop?
On a typical Friday night I am
out at a gaming meetup with friends! The weekend tends to be more decompressing time.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I talk to shelter dogs. A lot.
You should message me if
So, considering I live in Chicago and am carless, it may be difficult for me to meet you if you are outside of the city (or probably Evanston). Not impossible, but difficult.

Otherwise, if you're grounded and mature, naturally intellectually curious, not afraid to be silly sometimes, and know where your towel is, then fire away!
More
The two of us
--
Lifestyle
--
Dating
--
Other
--
Ethics
--
Sex
--
Religion