37Jamaica Plain, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I have found that OKC has introduced me to some incredibly cool, interesting, wonderful people, and I am very thankful to be able to call them my friends. At this point that is my purpose for maintaining a profile, as my relationship dance card is rather full. So, if you are only interested in finding a romantic or sexual partner, now would be a good time to wander to another profile, because you are unlikely to find that here, sorry.

Still with me? Good then, let's begin...

I am a 33-year-old woman living in Boston near the Sam Adams Brewery, and I love the constant amusement that my neighborhood provides on a daily basis. From the confused suburbanites brought on a trolley to tour the brewery, to the teenagers who fix cars, blast salsa music, and ride crazy scooters, or the artists who paint buses green, walk around on stilts and hand me aloe plants from their porches, this is by far my favorite place I've ever lived. You can frequently find me out wandering the neighborhood with my husband, reading comic books on my porch, or under the claws of my cat, Merlin. Nowadays, my days are usually spent on slow rambling walks with my toddler, or chasing her at a playground.

So, yes, I am happily married, but I am also polyamorous. I am content with my situation, and not actively looking for any new partners now. If you want to hang out, that sounds great, but it won't be a "date."

As to my general interests, I spent many years working as a children's librarian, so clearly I'm into reading. I am also a big theatre geek, into singing, dancing, writing erotica, baking, being crafty, GLBT issues, Judaism, the Red Sox, and well, a whole lot more. Message me to find out. ;)

I am silly, sensuous, and creative
What I’m doing with my life
Shaping young minds... (or is that warping?)

These days it is less of young minds in general, and more specifically my daughter's mind. I spend my days as a stay-at-home-mom. Though I do get to meddle with other young minds in my sideline teaching/storytime work.
I’m really good at
Entertaining small children. This is good, because it's my job! :)

More specifically, I am good at oral storytelling. However, my story tastes tend to run towards long stories, many of which are dark, or otherwise "inappropriate" for small children in their original forms. I like to trace out the many variations and early roots of my tales before finding or creating a version to tell. And now that there are Folk and Fairytale slams as well as the personal tales, I have a nice venue to enjoy telling and listening.

Baking. I like to make all sorts of desserts and I bake in various styles. Most frequently, I bake for holiday gatherings, so I tend to specialize in Jewish baking (I can even make a honey cake people actually like to eat, and I have taken over my mother's place in making a flourless chocolate cream souffle roll for Passover.) , as well as an apple crisp with my own blends of local apples depending on what's available at the farmer's market. I'm also getting quite good at vegan baking lately.
The first things people usually notice about me
My waistlength brown hair. I have been told that I have a really great smile by more than a few people.

Possibly my socks, depending on the situation. I adore wearing fun and silly socks, and they don't always match themselves or what I am wearing. Luckily, I have a job where that doesn't matter and could even be encouraged!
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
(a) I read far too much to ever really be able to answer that question. When I was little, my favorite book was The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein. I taught myself to read with that book. I can tell you that my shelves are crowded with Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman, and lots and lots of play scripts.

I have been tracking my reading for the last few years, and I created best lists. (Librarian, what can I say?) Here are the links to the lists, with the absolute best next to it:

2005: Kindred by Octavia Butler

2006: Time and Again by Jack Finney and Secret Identity by Kurt Busiek and Stuart Immonen

2007: The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon

2008: The History Of Love by Nicole Krauss and With The Light by Keiko Tobe

2009: Rooftops of Tehran by Mahbod Seraji

2010: The Night Counter by Alia Yunis

2011: (Small list, no "best")

(a.5) Webcomics: Goats (since 1998!), Unshelved, College Roomies From Hell, Kevin and Kell, Red String, Little Dee, Girl Genius

(b) Another tough one, as I have many. But all-time favorites would include The Philadelphia Story, Court Jester, and Princess Bride (and yes, I've read the book).

(c) My music tastes are eclectic. As an example, currently in my 3-CD changer I have "The Rocky Horror Punk Show," Jill Sobule's self-titled album, and Jyde "Lyve" (an a capella group I liked in college). But I also like show tunes, ska, classic rock, folk, traditional Jewish music, choral works, good parodies, and snarky/geeky comic music. Anything I can sing along with is a big plus.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Entertaining children. And pirates. Arrrr...

Lately, I've been thinking about what my next creative pursuit should be. I'm thinking about getting more serious about my photography, or going back to writing, possibly children's books this time.

Or maybe I just need to shake up my routines and meet some new people to do new and different things with!
On a typical Friday night I am
Sadly, with a toddler, not much of anything interesting.

But pre-child, it looked like this:

-A low-key and home-based night to relax and unwind from the week. This includes cooking up something scrumptious from all the fresh farmer's market ingredients (in season), and usually a sci-fi type of show or two because that's when they air (like Dr. Who, Torchwood, Dollhouse, and before they ended also Stargate, Battlestar Gallactica). Or on occasion a Shabbat dinner like we used to have every week several years ago.

-Hanging out with my husband's colleagues at bar and then going off to play pool or see a movie.

-Going to see a play by a professional or community group. (Although I tend to choose days other than Friday - if I can - to get better seats.)
You should message me if
I'm fond of local friends, and one can never have too many of those. As I said earlier, OKC has been a great place for me to connect with interesting people I never would have met otherwise. So, if you are the friendly sort, feel free to write. (Oh, but don't proposition me for sex, I just won't respond, k? Good, now that that's settled, we can move on.)

In particular, I am thinking about starting a home-based story swap event. Or a music circle that is child-friendly. So if you would like be a part of something like that, drop me a line.

If you have free time during the day and want to do something interesting, and don't mind a toddler tagging along. Or alternately, if you have something interesting to do on a weeknight so I can escape the child for a while!

I am looking for a Story-Slam Buddy for the Massmouth story slams. I may choose to compete at times, but I don't care if you do or not. Slams are more fun with company!

Also, I always like the idea of a penpal, but then I sort of fall down on the timely response part of that. But I'm always up to try again. :)

I will generally respond to non-creepy messages that say more than "woo."

So, try me if you like! :)
The two of us