30Chicago, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
transplant from the west coast (the bay, san diego, seattle), moved to chicago from seattle in the fall of 2010 for grad school. from a big family. have been riding a bicycle in the city setting for 10 years. work in higher ed, bartend and advocacy work. feminist. nature lover. secret jock. down to earth. just trying to stay alive and figure out ways to best house all this privilege!
What I’m doing with my life
just completed a master's degree, thinking about a phd, trying to live out my values of racial (and all) justice, invested in queer community building and empowerment. planning my next move.
I’m really good at
paying attention to details, riding my bike in a city, playing basketball and soccer, rolling joints, writing papers, thinking strategically, gesturing wildly, being calm amidst conflict/crisis, listening, balancing nine million things at once.
The first things people usually notice about me
from what people have told me: that i'm quiet, and that i have "cool glasses." but let's face it, people probably just think i'm a dumb hipster.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
off the top of my almodovar, orson welles, christopher guest, todd solondz. tv: arrested development, mr. show, strangers with candy. books: theory (foucault, judith butler, louis althusser, dean spade, angela davis), fiction (gary shteyngart, jeanette winterson, cormac mccarthy) mindfulness (thich nhat hanh, jon kabat-zinn). music: everything from fleetwood mac to m83, from tender forever to jean grae, from sun kil moon to austra, from yelle to gil scott-heron. i will eat just about anything and i could eat mexican food for the rest of my life. i try to maintain a whole food, plant-based diet, but if it's free or if someone cooked it for me, i will eat it.
Six things I could never do without
living near water
family - chosen and given
open, green spaces
I spend a lot of time thinking about
how i can become a farmer and/or live in a traveling tiny home, time and efficiency, the past, the present, the future, hypocrisy and irony, the events that make life stranger than fiction.
On a typical Friday night I am
rejoicing! probably out and about with friends, or working or at a meeting, doing yoga or riding my bike, or enjoying being alone.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
When I was a kid/teenager I wanted to be in the WNBA and I sincerely thought I would be able to achieve this.
You should message me if
you like adventures, you prefer to be treated well, you didn't just get out of a serious relationship, your sense of self-worth and self-confidence is high.

**okcupid has increased the number of gender identity options, but, confusingly, only limited options remain for the "seeking" section. I'm attracted to female-identified people.**
The two of us