37Saint Paul, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hi all! I'm Thomas. I moved to the area for a psychology internship a year ago and decided to stay for a postdoc position! Lately I've been trying to get back into running since it calms me, but I also struggle because I used to run competitively so have a lot of expectations about my running, I need someone who wants to run with me and help me with this!

I am horrible at filling out a self-summary. I feel like I am writing a resume and applying for a job and have trouble making my good qualities shine...

I am an easy going nerdy geeky guy who likes to do almost anything. I'm up for going out, staying in, exercising, playing Magic the Gathering, going places with my dog. I always joke that I've been Geek before it was in. I am sarcastic, self-deprecating, and laugh so hard that I cry.

I am a bit shy and awkward at first, but can be very loud and fun once I am comfortable with someone

I love to play pool, speak randomly in a British accent (I grew up on BBC shows with my English grandmother), mock myself and others. I am someone you want on your trivia team (even when I am drunk my friends make me get all my wedges twice in Trivial Pursuit!). I am full of random facts especially about movie, tv, books, comics, pop culture, psychology, and more!
What I’m doing with my life
Just finished my PhD in Clinical Psych this summer which has freed up quite a bit of time. I love the clinical side working with actual clients, trying to help improve their lives. For research I am kind of a stats dork and have been doing modeling of symptoms to predict functioning. Hoping to identify better targets for treatment. I study schizophrenia which I find very interesting but also very draining so need to be able to unwind hopefully with someone else when I leave work.
I’m really good at
Making people laugh, being loyal, grilling and cooking
The first things people usually notice about me
My sense of humor, my eyes
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Graphic Novels (esp Sandman Series, Alan Moore books, Bendis), Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy, Sherlock Holmes, Ender's Game, Dystopia Novels, Stephen King, Calvin and Hobbes

Movies: Casablanca, To Kill a Mockingbird, Star Wars, Lord of the Rings, Hitchcock, Horror, Harry Potter, Cartoons. Honestly I love movies, I could go on forever.

Shows: Doctor Who, Sherlock, BBC shows in general, Walking Dead, Lost, Big Bang, Dexter, How I Met Your Mother, Get Smart, New Girl, X-files, The Office. Also just finally got around to Freaks and Geeks and I as bummed as I thought I'd be that there are no more eps

Music: Ben Folds, Death Cab for Cutie, Classic Rock, Classic Country, Belle and Sebastian, Decemberists, 80s music
Six things I could never do without
1. My Dog
2. Homebrewed Beer (been brewing my own for about 8 years)
3. Reading
4. My Computer
5. Laughing
6. Playing Games of any kind
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Finishing my program, places I want to travel to, my friends. I don't know a good answer. I'm always just thinking
On a typical Friday night I am
I usually play games with friends in the early evening and then up for going out for drinks or whatever after that
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Most people thing I am very extroverted but I actually label myself more as an introvert

I love the show the OC and will defend it as satire, with amazing music and tons of good geek references
You should message me if
You're interested in having a fun conversation, getting to know me more. I love talking to people from all walks of life and am just trying to meet new people

You know the importance of the number 42, you want to be the Amelia Pond to my Rory Pond
The two of us