59 Albany, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm afraid I sometimes get in a bit over my head, allowing my imagination to lead when my reason might object. That's why I have a semi-bi-coastal life, meaning that although I live in Berkeley, I have an ongoing relationship with a 180-year old house (no plumbing or electricity) in the Champlain Valley of NY that spoke to me from behind a veil of trees and weeds. I spend a few weeks to a few months there summers, figuring out what do next. Last summer it was repairing the sheathing and siding. I've learned a few things about slinging a hammer, but I've sworn off table saws...
On the other hand, I'm a big reader and I write stories sometimes, mostly true.
I'm attracted to warm-hearted intellectuals, gay-seeming straight men, and wry humor, preferably in combination. I'm an ENFP, which means I'm an introverted extrovert. But these days, I've been pretty introverted. Although I've dipped my toe into OKCupid over the past several years, I've dated only sporadically. I'm looking for someone unusual I guess. I'll try to describe that more fully when I can figure it out myself. Probably I'd like to date the rare INFP.
Who knows?
What I’m doing with my life
I finished grad school in May and just completed certification to teach English to speakers of other languages. I'm not sure yet how I will translate that into a new career. I'm thinking about everything from community college teaching to overseas work or even boarding schools. I'm beginning to interview, so keep your fingers crossed!
I have a curatorial project that's ongoing which will translate into a museum exhibit in the next year or so. Once that's complete, I'll be freed up to consider my options, especially living abroad for awhile, which is high on my list of desires.
I've been working on my house here in the Bay Area a bit (in case I decide to sell) and I'm also very slowly restoring that 19th century house in the Adirondacks (upstate NY). I dream of having a place for family and friends to gather during the summers for canoe trips, hikes, visits to nearby Montreal, horseshoes and campfires.
Community and companionship are a bit lacking in my life right now because most of what I do, I do alone. Which has made me a bit of an introvert I think. A companion would really be a breath of fresh air.
I’m really good at
I'm good at talking to people and representing them fairly when I write about them. I'm an enchanting conversationalist and I'm good at taking the back roads. I like to find unlikely solutions and cool objects and if you want to know something, I'll happily do the research. I can cook up a meal out of nothing and do it quickly. I can get into and out of a parking space in the same amount of time it takes lots of people to put their key into the ignition.
The first things people usually notice about me
Probably whatever expression's on my face. That, and my curls.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I read all the time, though sometimes I get sucked into compulsively watching a series on Netflix that takes all my attention. Most recent of these was The Killing. I loved the way it developed the butterfly effect, though the ending was a bit anticlimactic. Endings are often sudden though; once something becomes obvious, it's just obvious.
Right now I'm reading Krakatoa, learning about the development of the spice trade and the rumble that ushered in globalism. I love the sort of non-fiction that gives me a glimpse into a time before something we now take for granted was known. An example would be Dava Sobel's Longitude or a book I once read about the time before centralized timekeeping. I'm also buried in books about early anthropology and 19th century journalism, theosophy, and American Indians.
Recent TV: Wallander (Swedish), The Killing, Deadwood, Lie to Me, Dexter, and Downton Abbey.
Music: I've been using Pandora stations more than my own music library. I have Bebel Gilberto, Bowerbirds, Traditional Blues, Cab Calloway, Antonin Dvorak, Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova, Sean Hayes, Carla Bruni, Cole Porter, Jose Gonzalez, Van Morrison, Iron & Wine, Joanna Newsom… you get the idea perhaps?
The six things I could never do without
Hot Baths
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I'm thinking a lot about how history is constructed, who or what got trampled or is left unremembered.
Lately I've been wondering if the wizard has anything in his bag for me.
On a typical Friday night I am
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
The idea of having my belly button poked is as appealing as having my eyeball poked.
You should message me if
If you're smart and warm and offbeat, even goofy, with a knack for the English language and possibly introverted, don't be shy. I'd love to meet someone handy and artistic who can teach me a thing or two or someone sporty and fun who'd enjoy taking me and my dog on adventures.