60 Denton, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
This is not a self summary... Just a favorite story...

I was in Italy, traveling by myself and had just arrived by rail in the town of Cornigelia in Cinque Terre. I had read Rick Steves book on traveling in Europe and getting the most out of your trip by engaging the locals and avoiding tourist traps. One of his suggestions/recommendations was to walk into any local restaurant and ask for a room...

So, I got off the shuttle that brought me to the door of a cafe and I walked up to the waiter, (very sterotypical italian waiter) and asked for a room. He replied, "Lunch is over". I thought perhaps he misunderstood me, so I asked again. He said, "Would you like some Salmon Penne Pasta." I just nodded and said "Sure, but I really need a room." He looked at me and said "Lunch is over, sit here".

Totally lost, I sat down and thought about what I was going to do. The nice waiter brought me a half liter of wine, (oh, man I LOVE Italy!) and just before the pasta arrived, a dark haired man came up and sat in front of me and asked if I needed a room. I almost blurted out "Lunch was over", but instead said yes... He told me that when I finished lunch to go around the corner of the cafe and enter the first door on the right. Ok, what the hell, I thought.

After I finished the most fabulous Salmon Penne Pasta I will ever eat, I got up to pay the bill inside the cafe. I walked out of the cafe, turned right to go around the building, took the first door on the right was *right back in the cafe* having come in the side door! The dark haired man was sitting there talking to the waiter, (who I assume was his brother) and took me to a woman who rented me a fabulous room for 3 glorious days.
What I’m doing with my life
I work in medicine.
I have a doberman pup... who is now about 10 months old and will come home from 'college' this week.

I am a navy brat and have lived in Hawaii and the Philipines in addition to Florida, Texas and Illinois.
I love to travel in and out of the Mainland US.

I own a small acreage and am remodeling my house, slowly but surely.

I have 2 children... a son 37 who has 3 children and a daughter 19. Spacing your children is everything.
I’m really good at
Entertaining people with great stories, making people feel comfortable and at home.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm not too sure - but they are laughing at me!
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books? I read "The Shack" which I found VERY thought provoking. "The Last Lecture" by Randy Pauch. I just finished rereading "Flowers for Algernon". I never realized they edited it for school age children. "Screw the Roses, Send Me the Thorns" is a great book I keep close. A friend convinced me to buy a Kindle and have more on it than I realized I would ever download. Did you know you can find FREE good books to download on that?

Movies? I like the old musicals, good chick flicks, action films, most sci fi and stories about real life and real people.

TV shows? I don't get the chance to watch much TV. Dexter on Showtime, a bizarre little show is a current favorite.

Music? Just about anything... it really depends on what I am doing and where I am. My CD collection ranges from country, rock, musicial soundtracks, new age, latin.. but Rap? not happening.

Food? Oh, man... I love to travel just to eat the local food. My favorite question of a waiter is: "What would YOU have if you were me?"
The six things I could never do without
My sister and her children and their children
My dog
My home
something to do
something to thank God for
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How I got to where I am, where I am going to end up, and why are all these people laughing at / with me????
On a typical Friday night I am
There is no typical Friday night
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
This is a joke/trick question right?
You should message me if
You are an intelligent male with any courage or a sense of adventure, between the ages of 50 - 60 some-odd, tolerant, with a sense of humor. If you like to travel, have a decent job that you enjoy, or are actively in retirement, still has most of your teeth (paid for or not), can spell and isn't living in buffalo breath hells far away from me.