66Manhattan, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
If you're a creative, independent, energetic and affectionate man who already has a lot on your plate - but is missing that particular entree called a significant other... we could be a good match! In you I hope to find a new best friend, confidant, and lover with whom to share life’s joys – and, if need be, its downsides. A great sense of humor is a big plus, as well as being socially-concerned, adventurous and open-minded. (It definitely helps if you live in and love New York City. I find it a continually challenging and exciting place to be! Also... I don't drive; I haven't driven a car for over 20 years and would be quite happy never to drive again! I just prefer mass transit (where I can read!), walking and cycling!

I hope we can explore mutual passions (or learn new ones from each other) and be there for each other but also allow leeway to do our own things. I’m now 65, which seems a bit preposterous, since I have a daughter still in college - and I’m anything but a retiring type, although I formally retired from a 14-year teaching job (and lots of other experiences besides) and am loving auditing classes at Columbia, taking creative writing classes elsewhere, swimming a lot, going to theater, expanding my food tour business and just living at a different rhythm. It suits me well!

A bit of background: I own a walking tour business, focusing on ethnic food in NYC. I've worked in education (newly retired after 14 years) and journalism. I've written several books. When my daughter was in elementary school, I became a career changer, switching from working at non-profits to becoming a special education “resource room” teacher. It gave me the same schedule as my daughter, and now I've got a pension, savings and great health benefits, thanks to the UFT + Medicare. (I'm holding off on social security for a while.) I love to travel and have been to many countries. I lived in Paris as a student (long ago) and in Johannesburg during the heady years when Mandela had been newly released, through to his election to the presidency of South Africa. My most recent trip was to Medellin, Colombia - an beautiful city that has emerged with pride and progress from the horrors and losses of its violent past. I was fascinated to visits its Casa de la Memoria - a museum that aims to celebrate Medellin's emergence from the horrors without forgetting them.

My passions - aside from NYC itself - include cycling, listening to jazz, exploring NYC neighborhoods, theater and reading. I helped found a book club in my neighborhood and had the joy to read Isabel Wilkerson's remarkable "The Warmth of Other Suns" and Colum McCann’s brilliant “Let the Great World Spin” among the many great books we've chosen. To me, a great book is like a gourmet meal: I love the different courses as I move through a delicious book and savor the feeling that comes with finishing it. But I also feel sad when the “meal” is over and I hunger for second helpings from that author.

FYI – I live in northern Manhattan, near beautiful Fort Tryon Park. Light, quiet and green space mean a lot to me, and I have all of these where I live. I don’t have a car, so, as I've mentioned, mass transit and bicycle are my main modes of transportation! I've never been married but was in a long live-in relationship. However, I raised my daughter - who I adopted - on my own when the relationship ended. My daughter is studying engineering at Johns Hopkins. We're very close but she's as independent as she should be, which means... very! Strong-minded, funny, decisive, obstinate, messy when she's home and delightful. I'm a proud mom!

Three more things: 1) Please don’t contact me if you live far away. I’m not interested in a long-distance friendship/relationship. 2) Please actually read the profile. From time to time I get messages that indicate that whoever saw it didn't take the time to read it. And 3) please tell the truth. I don't lie about my age (and it probably works against me. Sigh.) So please don't lie about yours. Thank you!
What I’m doing with my life
I've jubilantly retired from a 14-year teaching career and am incredibly busy developing my NYC ethnic food tour business, which I started in 2000; I'm joining partnerships with non-profits and trying to expand the custom tours and weekday tours now that I have time. I'm auditing courses at Columbia (for free!), taking a fiction writing workshops, and I swim regularly. I enjoy the freedom of the empty nest - but am also intimidated by it and am always very happy when my daughter comes home to visit. She's in college in a nearby city so I can see her fairly often. I go to theater when I can, buying discount tickets only. I enter the Hamilton lottery almost daily but haven't won anything yet!
I’m really good at
exploring, writing about, and leading food-themed walking tours in NYC's ethnic neighborhoods as part of a business I created 16 years ago. My book about NY food, entitled Nosh New York, was published by St. Martin's Press in 2003. While I'd love to update it, this probably won't happen because of the proliferation of food blogs... sigh. I'm very much into the idea of food as a gateway to new cultures - and a way to foster peace. So my tours also include history and culture.
The first things people usually notice about me
I have no idea. Ask them!
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Andre Schwarz-Bart's "The Last of the Just" was my first favorite book as an adult (I loved Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle books as a child); more recent favorites include Colum McCann's masterpiece "Let The Great World Spin," Michael Chabon's "The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay" and Joseph O'Neill's "Netherland"; all-time favorite movie is Paul Mazursky's "Next Stop, Greenwich Village." My favorite Broadway play is "Jerusalem," which was in NYC in 2011, starring the remarkable Mark Rylance (I saw it three times), and I'm a fan of the musical "Finian's Rainbow," which surprised me with its political depth and brilliant lyrics. In early 2015 I was captivated by the brilliant play "The Curious Incident of the Dog At Nighttime," which i made a point of seeing twice, once with its star, another time with the regular understudy, who was excellent!
Food: Take me to an ethnic neighborhood of NYC and I'll take you to the best eateries... or surprise me with your own favorites (or your cooking!). Not interested in so-called "in" neighborhoods; have never eaten in "hipster" Williamsburg but do know the delis and shops in kosher Williamsburg!
Six things I could never do without
NOT in order - here are SEVEN!

1. Being a mom to my wonderful daughter
2. A great guy to be a best friend & more!
3. New York City & opportunities to travel to other world cities
4. My bicycle
5. Sunshine
6. Time
7. Friends who are always there for each other!
I spend a lot of time thinking about
... how to finish all the things I want to do, including reading books, seeing theater, creating photo essays, exploring NYC, my next trip, seeing my daughter through to happy, stable adulthood..

... giving away lots of stuff I don't have the heart to give away. (I'm not a hoarder but I am very sentimental so I hold on to things that I should have given away long ago.)

... finding the right person to share life with!
On a typical Friday night I am
... there is no "typical" Friday night. These days Friday is my Saturday; I go to classes Monday through Thursday and usually lead food tours on the weekend, so when Friday comes, I hang tight - take a walk through the fabulous gardens in Fort Tryon Park (I actually try to take early morning walks there most days), read, try to organize my life...
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
... not in writing!
You should message me if
you've read my profile thoroughly and feel that we truly share similar values and experiences. No response if you live far away and/or have clearly not read about who I am. Ditto if you can't write a good grammatical sentence and/or clearly have not taken the time to proof-read! Also, please be honest about your age and your situation (job, family, etc.). The truth will come out at some point if you're not so let's not waste each other's time. I realize that I'm probably losing out on meeting great guys because I'm in my 60s, but I believe honesty is essential in any relationship, and I really hope to find just one amazing person whose life I can enhance and who will enjoy being my partner.
The two of us