55Richmond, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hmmm...well, I think my friends would say I'm social, sarcastic, athletic, adventurous, open minded, and thoughtful. I grew up in Montreal and have since lived in quite a few places: rural Quebec, California, Nova Scotia, Toronto, Ottawa, Gainesville (FL) and now Richmond (VA). I also have worked for extended periods in Central America and the Caribbean. I backpacked around Asia for a year in my late year of my life. There is of course much more to say/write, but at the moment, I'm kind of beat and my dog's whining for me to take her out. What can I say? She's got me under her thumb/paw.
What I’m doing with my life
Good question. Let's see...I'm a professor but I also own some rental properties that I manage, or mismanage, depending on the day. Recently developed (with two partners) a building with restaurant and six project. I also love to ski (snow and water), surf, hike, and play my drums. I should get into a band again. I love my family and friends, and would like to spend more time with them. I enjoy making people laugh. I take good care of my dog. I love to travel...have been to almost 60 countries and have worked in twelve or so. I believe in cross-cultural and language skills; I speak Spanish and French pretty fluently and I like to stay up on international affairs/current events.
I’m really good at
Skiing; playing the fool; swearing; languages; reciting movie lines. Decent drummer. Pretty good surfer at times.
The first things people usually notice about me
Not quite sure.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Clearly this is not an exhaustive list, as my memory just ain't that efficient, but some faves (lately) include the following:

Music: Ray Lamontagne, Pat Metheny, Neil Young, The Band, Led Zeppelin, Yarn, My Morning Jacket, Son Volt, Paula Cole, Christian McBride, Julian Lage, Antonio Sanchez (on drums)...more to follow.

Books/Magazines: The Atlantic, The New Yorker, Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas (Hunter S. Thompson), The Corrections (Franzen), Remains of the Day (Ishiguro), The Help (Kathryn Stockett), Ecological Imperialism (Alfred Crosby), Omnivore's Dilemma (Michael Pollan), A Confederacy of Dunces (John Kennedy O'Toole), anything by Steinbeck, Mordechai Richler, Milan Kundera, etc. etc.

Movies: anything by the Coen bros., Remains of the Day...many more to follow.

Food: Pizza, Thai, Italian, Greek, Mexican, Cuban, my world famous burgers and pasta, good chicken wings (e.g. at Commercial Taphouse in RIC), etc. etc.
Six things I could never do without
Smart, honest people; skiing; surfing; my dog Mabel; good red wine; traveling; live music. Ooops: that's seven.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
a) All the things I still want to do with my life; b) the need to heal the planet and its broken economic systems; c) sex.
On a typical Friday night I am
Howling at the moon.
You should message me if
you are so inclined and think we may share some interests, etc.
The two of us