insomniacmatt
30 Milwaukee, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
insomniacmatt
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am an eternal optimist and this tends to make me a happy person in general. I believe that everything can change for the better and that eventually it will.

I was born and raised a country kid on a grain farm. My home county, Lafayette, is the only one in Wisconsin that has no stop lights, so that should give you an idea of just how rural it is! However, I've always felt like a big city kinda person at heart.

I've been lucky to have the opportunity to travel around the world. I have been to the UK, Ireland, Switzerland, France, Mexico, Canada, and last summer I lived in Germany. Now I'm back in Milwaukee.

I love people who are good conversationalists and who are up for a good debate, as long as we can disagree but still get along! I always have time for anyone who has something to offer intellectually. It doesn't have to be real highbrow stuff, but it's nice to chat with people who keep themselves informed with what is happening in the world.

I enjoy reading when I have the time, both fiction and non-fiction. I also love video games but school has been getting between me and quality frag time. I love all sorts of movies and now that I have Netflix I'm catching up on my list of unseens. I also try to make a habit of going to the gym several times a week to keep from getting too spongy.

I have a little nerd side as well. I use Ubuntu Linux as my operating system (props to anyone who knows what that is) and I used to work for tech support in college. However, I do know when to turn it off when I'm around the non-technical so I don't bore them to death.

Besides all that, I'm real and honest and there's much more to me if you care to find out!
What I’m doing with my life
I graduated from UW-La Crosse with a BS in Business Management (minor in poli-sci) in 2008 and I graduated from Marquette Law School in 2011. Now I manage and lease out farm properties.
I’m really good at
Fixing computers, giving advise, talking my way out of problems, debating what can best cause existential fulfillment.

Photography is a hobby of mine. I love going out with my DSLR just taking shots, tweaking them in Lightroom, and seeing what turns out well. I've been lucky to have done some traveling so I've collected many photos from abroad but also many from Milwaukee that I'm proud of. I also own a drone which has been a lot of fun to play around with and take photos with.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Some of my favorite authors are Steven King, Dean Koontz, and Michael Crichton. I have also recently enjoyed some non-fiction books about environmentalism by Bjørn Lomborg and a surprisingly interesting book called Red Notice about a hedge fund manager's battle with the corrupt Russian government shortly after the fall of communism.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The future, generally. I wonder what the world is going to be like in 100 years. Will we have cured all disease? Stopped the aging process? Ended poverty? Solved the need for renewable energy? Will we be flying around in hover cars powered by vegetable oil? Hmmm??
On a typical Friday night I am
Usually out and about with friends. Either chilling at someone's house or hitting up a bar, usually on North Ave. I also love going to the Estabrook Beer Garden in the summer! No matter what, fun times are sure to be had.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I am almost completely sports illiterate. Growing up I just never was given a proper education on teams/players/stats or much of anything to do with professional sports. I blame my dad. So if I say something about how that was a great goal Aaron Rodgers bunted in from half court, you'll have to forgive me.
You should message me if
You are looking for someone who can make you happy, make you smile, and treat you well. So if your interested in some casual dating that could turn into something more give me shout. I'd love to learn more about you!
More