jackkerouac61
32 Washington, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
jackkerouac61
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I grew up outside of Pittsburgh (Go Pens!!!) and went to undergrad at Duquesne University. Duquesne is the 3rd most well-known school in Pittsburgh. I moved to Chicago in 2006 for graduate school at Northwestern University where I worked in a laboratory studying diabetes in mice and trying to translate it into a cure for humans. This is starting to sound like a job application but I promise it will get personal real soon. I finished grad school with my PhD in 2012 and moved to D.C. a postdoctoral fellowship and I love the city so far – the winters are so much better than Chicago. I still have a lot more exploring to do even though I've been here a little over three years.

I enjoy reading (my kindle and real books), listening to all type of music, going to the gym, riding my bike, skiing, indoor rock climbing, museums, new restaurants, jazz in the park and going to happy hour with friends. I like good beer, red wine and whiskey/rum. I do not have a car so I walk and bike everywhere and oddly enough I do not miss having a car. That’s probably because I haven’t owned a car in a long time (perks of city living). I have two bikes and I use capital bikeshare - there is no better mode of transportation. I'm not very adept at describing my emotions or life philosophies in places like this but I promise you I’m a very inquisitive person and enjoy talking about most any subject. A few hours over coffee/beer is the best way to address these in-depth questions.
What I’m doing with my life
I received my PhD in biology in 2012 and moved to D.C. for a postdoc. I did that for three years then I started a fellowship with the government in the area of science policy and I’m super excited. In between my postdoc I spent two weeks traveling around Europe and it was great (obligatory mention of my world travels).
I’m really good at
All things science related.
Getting around without a car. My bike is my car.
Being a reliable friend.
Pretending to be a good cook.
Succeeding at life.
Indoor rock climbing.
The first things people usually notice about me
My curly hair
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I enjoy reading. My favorite books are: Catcher in the Rye, Catch-22, 1984, The Road, A Clockwork Orange, Ray Bradbury and Kirk Vonnegut novels, The Great Gatsby. Lots more, ask me. Currently reading Dracula and before that it was The Sports Gene.

Movies: Godfather I and II, Garden State, Inception, Office Space, Quentin Tarantino movies, Rockey I-IV, Crazy Stupid Love, Batman Trilogy (Christopher Nolan), Goodfellas and lots of others. I’ll watch most any movie at least once.

Music: Way too many to list and ranges from 1950-2015. Number one of all time is the Beatles. Led Zeppelin, The Doors, CCR, CSNY, Jimi Hendrix, Pink Floyd, Nirvana, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Smashing Pumpkins, Sublime, Cold Play and Pearl Jam are near the top to. There is no genre that I can’t find at least a few groups that I like.

TV: Seinfeld and Arrested Development and by far my two favorite shows. I also enjoy Jeopardy. I do not have cable so I don’t watch that much TV (I do have Netflix though).

Food: Anything except Sushi but Mexican, Indian, Thai, Korean and Pho are some of my favorites.
The six things I could never do without
Internet
Music
Friends/family
My bike
Free time away from work
Chapstick
I spend a lot of time thinking about
It used to be what I was going to do after my postdoc but since I now have a fellowship it’s what will I do after my fellowship ends? I also think about, in no particular order: where I'll travel to next, whether Congress will ever become less polarized, whether the Pens will win the cup, why so many people these days seem to ignore science. I think about lots of random things.
On a typical Friday night I am
Happy hour with friends or coworkers or Relaxing from a busy week in my apartment.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I have an irrational fear of murky water.
You should message me if
You think we would get along
You want to explore the city with me
You want to go out for a beer/coffee
You want to go biking or indoor rock climbing
You think science is cool
Because I'm much more fun in person than my profile might suggest
More