jaglovertx
38 Grand Prairie, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
jaglovertx
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm generally pretty laid back, but I enjoy and respond to spontaneity in others. I love playing games - board games, card games, computer games, just about anything. I also enjoy learning new things. Classes I'd love to take: dance, scuba diving, horseback riding, cooking, massage, maybe something artistic... If you can recommend a good one in the area, please let me know!

Relationship-wise, I'm looking for the whole marriage and kids thing long-term. But even if you can't be that person, I'd love to make new friends!

I am:
Intelligent, hardworking, playful, loving. I believe in honesty and communication. I love to cuddle. Family is very important to me. I can be difficult to get to know at first, but will open up with a bit of patience.

You should be able to:
*Compromise, converse intelligently, and be humorous without being malicious.
*Commit to a job and a relationship.
*Be caring, fair, honest, and compassionate.
*Have your own interests in addition to sharing some of mine.
*Be yourself.
*Live without drugs, tobacco, or excessive alcohol.

Warnings for me:
I am a bleeding heart liberal and an atheist. This means I believe in a woman's right to choose, gay marriage, and evolution. I also strongly believe in helping those less fortunate. I have been a special ed teacher for 11 years, so I'm putting my money where my mouth is, so to speak. If you can't agree with all of this, you're better off with someone else.
What I’m doing with my life
*Teaching special education. It's a new adventure every day!
*Trying to meet new people in DFW.
*Spending time with family.
I’m really good at
Listening. Not much shocks me. I'm a pretty understanding person, and I enjoy getting to know others. I can almost always see both sides to an issue. That said, I believe we all have a duty to those less fortunate than ourselves.

Baking. Every Christmas, my mom and I bake dozens and dozens of cookies for the family, which my brothers eat almost instantly. We have to hide them all over the house to make them last! My favorite are spritz, both for their light vanilla flavor and for all the fun ways you can decorate them!

Reading. I devour books at a truly alarming rate. I mostly read fantasy, particularly urban fantasy. I'm currently rereading Seanan McGuire's October Daye series in preparation for her September release. I love mythology from all over the world. I need to find a good mystery series; I cut my teeth on Agatha Christie back in elementary school and nothing has really measured up since. I find books about animals fascinating. Irene Pepperburg's "Alex and Me" was incredible.
The first things people usually notice about me
"Have I seen you before someplace?" Either it's the world's most common pick up line, or I have one of those familiar faces. No, you probably haven't seen me before. I grew up in DFW, but I've spent most of the past 17 years in Boston. I've never been on a reality TV show or a wanted poster. I don't have an identical twin who made it big in Hollywood (though that would be cool).
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Favorite book: the Fionavar Tapestry trilogy by Guy Gavriel Kay. High fantasy, somewhat Tolkienesque, almost poetic in places. The words just stuck in my head. It was gorgeous.

Movies: I like "fun" movies. Whatever's the latest from Pixar, romantic comedies, stuff like that.

Shows: I don't watch TV at all. I'll watch major events like the Olympics, Super Bowl, and presidential elections, but that's about it. I do like going to plays, though. Especially musicals. I saw Wicked on Broadway last summer and loved it, though I think RENT is my all-time favorite.

Music: Why doesn't anyone like country? I enjoy listening to a huge range of artists. The most important thing is that I'm able to sing along with it, it tells some sort of interesting story, and/or it makes me feel something. That said, I have a mix of Garth Brooks, Indigo Girls, Pink, Bleu Edmondson, Lady Antebellum, Mumford & Sons, Evanescence, James Taylor, and Melissa Etheridge on my iPod right now, just to name a few. See if you can find the pattern.

Food: As long as it's not too weird or spicy, I'll eat it. I love ethnic food: Thai, Italian, Tex-Mex, Chinese, sushi... It's all good. :)
The six things I could never do without
1. My family - I have a big family that's always been there for me. I can't imagine my life without them.
2. My dog - I have a cockapoo who is my baby. He's spoiled rotten.
3. My Nook - I love to read, mostly fantasy, some romance, some true animal stuff.
4. My laptop - Gotta be able to work and play and keep in touch with people. Laptop is a must!
5. My bed - I love to sleep. Just 5 more minutes please!
6. My iPhone - How did I ever survive before I had internet everywhere I went? I mean, really!!
I spend a lot of time thinking about
**Taking care of others. I have a large, close family. I tend to have a very few, very close friendships. I'm in my 11th year as a special education teacher. I feed (and sometimes adopt) strays. It's important to feel like I'm making a difference in the world around me.

**Why aren't we, as individuals, as a nation, as a world, doing more to take care of our planet and its inhabitants?
On a typical Friday night I am
Raiding with my guild on WoW. Yep, I'm a gamer geek. Sorry, guys. :-(

Other things I'm interested in: Sewing - both quilting and cross-stitch. Yoga. Spending time with family and friends. Teaching my dog goofy useless tricks. Painting my toenails weird colors. Collecting unicorns. Scrapbooking. Haunting Yankee Candle for the next must-have scent (my current favorite is Pineapple Cilantro - don't knock it til you've tried it!) Reading excessively. Travel - I've hit more than half of the US, been to Canada, Mexico, Bermuda, the western Caribbean, and Europe. Lying in the sun. Finding a pair of jeans that fits just right.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
*I'm terrified of heights and anything with more than 4 legs.
*I hate writing in blue or black ink. All my pens are in purple, pink, green, turquoise, silver...
You should message me if
*You actually read my profile and think we have something in common.
*We have a high match percentage.
*You have a job, a brain, and a sense of humor.
*You have better things to do than get drunk, drugged up, and/or spend most of your time watching TV.
*You actually want to talk. I'm not on A-list, so I can't see people who "like" my profile, and no matter what men say, a lot seem intimidated when the woman contacts them first.
More