39 Great Falls, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I hope to travel the world. I want to learn a few languages. I want to do volunteer work, maybe the Peace Corps.

I ended up with two degrees, engineering and music with a minor in math thrown in for fun. Let's just say I took my share of classes while in college. As for the career, I went the route of the engineer, but found out it was the wrong one. I've also studied some second language acquisition at a graduate level, and got a TESOL certificate (to teach English). My point is that I've got a well-rounded education in various fields. I hope to get a masters someday, but haven't yet decided for sure in what. Too many things interest me.

I'm addicted to learning, but no complaints since there are worse addictions. I like watching news/political shows to keep up on current affairs. I try to be an informed citizen. I love in-depth conversations. I like intellectual interactions that open my eyes/thoughts to new perspectives. I'm happily a progressive and would describe myself with these terms - atheist, semi-socialist, feminist, environmentalist, and sex positive.

I'm in the habit of recycling and try to do things that are good for the environment. I'm big on sustainability. I'm basically a vegetarian, but not hardcore. I like to be physically active. I love to play tennis, go running or work out in the gym (although to save money I just do calisthenics at home). I enjoy other sports as well. I'm trying to avoid driving (don't own a car), and instead ride my bike as often as I can or use public transit. In the past, I've taken a horseback riding class for fun, and I've gone skydiving and bungee jumping. Bungee jumping was way scarier, at least it was for me. But as you can see I'm willing to try things.

I'm open with my feelings and quite comfortable with expressing them, although I'm pretty mellow so not exactly a ball of emotions. I'm pretty frank most of the time. I'm also quite open with my sexuality, being comfortable reading, talking, joking about that part of me. It's a natural part of being human and a part of life I want to enjoy. I treat women as equals. I'm not big on the male/female roles our society promotes. Well, I have a lot of issues with our society, but I'll save that for later. I've had excellent past relationships and am often still friends with my ex's. I enjoy mature, healthy interactions where each person helps the other reach their potential as a human being. I like the idea of polyamory or polyamorous relationships. I should explain. The idea of multiple caring committed relationships doesn't scare me. It's not just about random sex. I'm not the jealous type. Monogamy might still be an option I'd consider, but I'd prefer polyamory. It all depends on how we define the relationship.

What am I looking for? Pretty much all the things I just said. I would like to meet someone roughly my age, that's educated, well-read, and who has an opinion and likes to share it! Someone who isn't superficial. Someone willing to travel and live abroad, who's open with her feelings and sexuality. I'm looking for someone who cares about her health by eating well and exercising, that's very important. Someone who is active and who likes tennis, biking, running. And someone who wants to try new things (SCUBA diving, operas etc.) since I want to experience all that stuff with someone.

I am healthy, rational, and mellow.
What I’m doing with my life
Currently I am reinventing myself. It's sort of my "quarter-life crises" if you will (but now it's progressed to a "one-third-life crises"). I quit my job as an engineer - didn't enjoy it even though I love math and science and the pay was good. Now I'm working towards being a musician and/or language teacher or whatever else I find, and I hope to travel abroad next year for a bit. No set plans yet, but that's the general idea.
I’m really good at
Nothing. Instead I am mediocre with a lot of things. For instance, I speak French a little bit, I play the piano and accordion, each a little bit. I compose music for fun, and I play tennis and racquetball. I have had a few people tell me I am or would be a good teacher, but I'm not positive about that yet. I suppose my problem is that I have way too many interests that each demand time and thus all suffer such that I don't master any of them. I need to work on that.
The first things people usually notice about me
Physically: my very blue eyes and sometimes my butt (just going off of what I've been told). I ride my bike a lot, so I have somewhat muscular legs and butt.

Personality: soft spoken, slow talking, laid-back, and very mellow. People say I am hard to read, but once they get to know me, they say I am a very calming presence.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
My favorite book of all time is probably my physics book, mindblowing stuff. In terms of politics, 1984 and Animal Farm by Orwell probably opened my eyes more than any other books. A few others I would recommend if you are looking for something: The Way We Eat, Fast Food Nation, Culture Jam, The Monkey Wrench Game, The Man Who Mistook His Wife For A Hat, Catch-22, The Martian and all the Sherlock Holmes stuff.

Over time I've come to dislike a lot of the standard formulaic Hollywood stuff, particularly action movies. I like documentaries, independent, foreign, and short films. That isn't to say that the big studios don't produce some excellent films at times. I don't have any favorites, but here are some that generally represent what I like: Gandhi, Amélie, The Butterfly Effect, Run Lola Run, The Game, Dr. Strangelove, The Blair Witch Project, Fight Club, Team America, 12 Angry Men, Life Is Beautiful, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, The Usual Suspects, Office Space, Dogma, Downfall, Snatch, Goodbye Lennon, Being John Malkovich, Momento, The Fall, Interstellar, The Perks of Being A Wallflower, The Secret Life Of Walter Mitty, Inside Out, Horns, The Kings of Summer, Diabolique, some of the Buster Keaton films and lots more.

Again, this is too difficult to sum up, but I'll try. I like Big Bands (swing/sweet) from 30's and 40's. I like broadway and film musicals (The Music Man is my favorite, at least for the time being), and I hope to compose a musical someday. Yes, I'm a straight guy who likes musical theatre. And yes, I spelled theatre with the "r" before the "e". I like ragtime/honky tonk/stride/boogie piano, rockabilly, most of the music from the 1960's/early 70's. I like alternative rock that came out of the 90's. I also like the Classic and Romantic periods, piano sonatas/waltzes, band marches, and fugues from the Baroque period. I also have a taste for some world/folk music. Indian (South Asia) and Middle-Eastern music are both interesting, Latin jazz, and anything with an accoridon works like traditional Irish music. Oh ya, Beat music too (techno/dance). OK, there is a lot more so I should have just listed the things I don't like, that would have been easier.

I like fresh veggies and fruit and whole grain breads/pasta. I make my own pizzas now, like the ones I had in Italy when I lived there. But that doesn't mean I don't enjoy a good sweet treat every so often (OK, more like all the time). I don't eat out much anymore, cheaper/healthier to eat at home. I love Indian and Thai food.
The six things I could never do without
My own sanity, my eyesight, my general health, my passions, my curiosity, and my memories. As far as material possessions, I've come to the conclusion that I can pretty much do without them, although I do use my laptop a lot now.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Sex of course. At least I'm honest and it isn't always my first choice - it just happens, blame evolution. But I also spend time thinking about who I am and about my future. I think about politics a lot. I wonder when and how I will be able to contribute to this world, how to make it better in some way. I need to find that one thing (or two) that I'm passionate about so I can really commit a lot of time and effort to that cause. I would like to help create a more secular society, breaking people free of religion.
On a typical Friday night I am
Sitting at home relaxing. Often I am cleaning the house (I like it clean), checking email, watching a movie, playing the piano. I'm not really into the bar scene, although I will go out every once in a while, preferably a smoke-free place.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I've tried pot a few times, and I've tried mushrooms. Ultimately though I would prefer just getting a buzz from a few drinks.

I'm sure I've got a few other things I could share. Generally, I will answer any question that you would ask me. There are no topics that are off limits. I don't see the point of secrets. If you keep things hidden, you can never fully be yourself around others.
You should message me if
You want a good conversation.
You are genuine and mature.
You are female.
You want to go to a musical/opera/play.
You like to play board games or cards.
You wouldn't mind playing tennis or going for a run.
You yearn to swing dance on a Saturday night.
You aren't afraid of SCUBA diving or skydiving.
You want to find someone to have adventures with while backpacking around the world.
You have at least some of the qualities above, not necesarily all. I'm not that picky really.
You read my ENTIRE profile and still think I'm someone you'd like to hang out with.
You didn't necessarily match everything I said, but you still think you have something to offer me...I'm open to that. Give it a shot.