62Indianapolis, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am a man who enjoys journaling, meditating, practicing, performing (vocally and instrumentally) and experiencing a variety of music, walking, bicycle riding, vegetable gardening, hanging out and getting perspective with interaction with others around me and those close to me, connecting with my kids, making and gazing at fires and singing songs, talking or just staring at the flames.

I am retired and have two adult children, one who lives in this metro area with her hubby and my grandbabies. I enjoy them, but enjoy that they have their own worlds too. And I have been blessed to be able to pay my bills and more per retirement.

I am Peaceful/Spiritual, affectionate, musical, and retired.
What I’m doing with my life
I continue to be open to each day as it comes, and continually taking it one day at a time. It is good to get up in the morning, enjoy a little breakfast, pop open one of my meditation books for a short, and do my chi kung routine. I see my daughter and family when their busy schedule permits. I volunteer to serve as a sponsor to young children to help them regroup for themselves in the wake of having an alcoholic adult in their lives. I am involved with music ministries, one of them, playing guitar for a Hispanic service, and the other playing lead guitar for an Anglo service. I also have enjoyed bringing ukulele music and song to various places. I have gotten so that I have read one heck of a lot of classics in recent years (Sherlock Holmes, HG Wells Outline of History, Aesop's Fables, Don Quijote (en Español ), the Frank Baum books (including the Wizard of OZ), oral interp of readings and stories).
I seem to perpetually spruce up guitar instrumental and vocal versions of such things as Beatles classics and JT along with some Jazz classics and playing some banjo for good measure (yeah it’s eclectic: ranging across jazz, pop, soul/R&B, bossa nova, blues, classical, folk, bluegrass, ).

In recent years, I also have enjoyed getting back into gardening, and had a nice vegetable garden last year, and will be on it soon this year.

I make sure that I get to spend time with others most every day, because I am a people person. It has been fun to go out to movies, go camping, participate or attend music events, go bike riding, just spend the time shooting the breeze while taking walks (I like to walk at least 4 times per week if I can) or sharing bike rides, or sitting out in front of my fire saucer out behind the house. I have enjoyed little over nights to places in the state. I also have been out visiting my son out in San Diego, and going out to visit my folks and siblings out in the Washington DC metro area.

Also, while my adult kids lead their own lives, I also love spending time with them. There is nothing like messing around with ukes together with my little granddaughter and singing little tunes. It is a total hoot to be live texting with my San Diego son several times a week to giggle and share perspective on stuff. Life is good this way.

And of course about all there is breathing in and out and appreciating being in the moment. Wow, what a deal!
I’m really good at
Conversation, just being able to relax in the moment and do simple things, participating in group activities, counseling and guide others. I am told that I am great at my cooking. Music-wise, I have been involved with performing guitar, bass, uke, harmonicas, banjo, and voice. To one extent or another from my teen years going forward I have been involved with music-related activities, paid and volunteer. I am also pretty good at oral interpretation of stories, whether they be for kids or adults.

I am also a good listener, I am told by those that know me well.
Over the years I have worked at balancing my world so that I feel like I am participating in life, being productive, making a difference. As well though, I take time for me and for for quiet moments with those close to me.
The first things people usually notice about me
I am told that I am trustworthy and open minded.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
My favorite books, movies, music, and food: Books: "Peace is Every Step" (by Budhist Thich Nhat Hanh), “What is the Oxford Group”, The "Outline of History (HG Wells)", Parts of the New and Old Testament, The Sherlock Holmes Stories. Some Science Fiction shows and movies, other movies, live theater and musical theater. Music: A wide variety of music ranging from pop, Beatles, American and European folk, jazz, latin (of Spain and South America), blue-grass, and some classical. I was brought up to and continue to enjoy all kinds of food (and preparing it when possible). I was raised with stuff ranging from steak, good vegetable dishes, omelettes, to polish gwumpkies, gefilte fish, swedish meatballs, croquetes, and all kinds of other wonders. And so, I enjoy preparing lots of different foods too. I also enjoy simple stuff like a hotdog, chicken or fish on the grill.
Six things I could never do without
A positive relationship with the universe at large
Food, clothing and shelter
Being involved with a community about me
Honest companionship
I spend a lot of time thinking about
-The people that I care about
-What I am to be involved with today
-Not thinking and just breathing in and out and truly being here in the moment and tuning up to my God and the universe about me
-How I can contribute something positive to the universe today
On a typical Friday night I am
Either out at some musical or theatrical event, having dinner with someone, hitting a fellowship meeting, or relaxing by a fire with a friend having a cup of tea or coffee. I might also be off to a retreat or on a weekend trip to another spot I might not have experienced or to some favorite spot to relax and get away with a friend.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
As of Nov 2010, I am 20 years successful in 12 step recovery, and am active in helping others in that community (especially in sponsoring both adults and groups of kids).
You should message me if
If you feel that you might enjoy hanging out or could relate with what you see here, maybe you want to enjoy a meal somewhere, or hit a movie or something, or just begin to get to know each other.

Tenga un buen dia! Paz contigo.

The two of us