35 Stockholm, Sweden
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am an Englishman who moved to Stockholm in spring 2011. I recently became a Swedish citizen too, and have even tried drinking coffee, but I think my heart will always beat faster for tea.
What I’m doing with my life
For fun, mostly training and playing capoeira, dancing forró, taking lots of pictures, writing, gig-going and spending time with people I care about.

I'm passionate about music, especially indiepop although a fair few other alternative areas grab me as well. I play bass, but less so at the moment as I am not currently in a band.

Work-wise my background is in journalism (although that is not quite what I am doing now) so of course I love to read and write.

I love animals, especially cats, but after 19-years with a cat I adored I am currently without one.
I’m really good at
Conversing, writing, cooking, taking pictures.
The first things people usually notice about me
If they are Swedish, they probably notice my English accent, because I do enjoy a conversation, and I am not afraid to have it in Swedish, but I have not shaken the accent yet - perhaps I never will.

If we are talking in English, they'll probably pick up quickly how much I like people. I am fascinated by people, and I am not afraid to ask questions, or tell stories of my own.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books - One Hundred Years of Solitude, A Day in The Life of Ivan Denisovitch, pretty much anything by Haruki Murakami, Ursula Le Guin, Graham Greene or Iain Banks. I recently discovered David Mitchell and that seems to be working for me too.

Music - Lots of indiepop, both old and new, and various other alternative things, often with a strong melodic component. As a bassist I do like that to be fairly clear in the music too.

Movies - Pretty much anything by Wes Anderson, then I Love You Man, Role Models, Star Wars, to be honest I have an only-slightly-guilty near-unconditional love for science-fiction. Learning more about Woody Allen at the moment.

TV - The West Wing, Last Week Tonight, Many shows on HBO, Parks and Rec, Buffy, more scifi.

Food - Vegetarian, erm... I like most things to be honest... nothing too bland though. Curry, chilli, italian, thai, chinese, it is all good. Oh and sweet things, I like those too.
The six things I could never do without
The means to contact or see my friends and family.
A well-stocked bookshelf/music selection and kitchen.
A healthy curiousity.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What is going on in the world.
What is going on with the people I care for.
Fiction, whether reading it or writing.
What on earth is going on in my life, it often feels I am a bit wide-eyed in surprise at the moment, but it's an amazing ride.
Work... I know, I know, but in my defence, they are paying me for it.
On a typical Friday night I am
Often at capoeira training, maybe followed by a gig, a meal out, or a forró party.
Wherever I am, hopefully with interesting people who have a lot to share.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I don't really know what I am doing, but it should be fun working it out.
You should message me if
You think that we have common interests and values and think we could have a nice time if we met up, or if you think I sound interesting and you think it's worth messaging me to find out.