41 Wheeling, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary

Science. Geek. Storm chaser. Gamer. Outdoorsman. Adventurer. Explorer. Sapiosexual. Demisexual. Dog Lover. Music Lover. Total nerd: comic books, manga, anime, video games, Pocky, Ramune, cosplay... etc. But more than that.



I'm terrible at this...the profile writing and online dating thing, but here it is nonetheless. Generally speaking, I'm socially awkward on these sites. Therefore, any message I send will probably inspire you to ignore it more than spark any instant attraction (as it has countless times so far already).

I'm back in Chicago after living out west for three years. I'm mainly looking to make new women friends and to see where that goes... definitely not looking for a one night stand but also not necessarily looking for "the one" or necessarily a committed relationship - though not looking for an "open" one either. I'm a little lonely but far from desperate and like my "me time" and need space to spend time with my friends.

I'm an ENTP personality type (for those of you that care about that sort of thing), which means I'm basically a big kid that never lost his curiosity or sense of wonder and am good at reading people and situations. I'm heavily logical and rarely act on emotion alone. That is not to say I don't have some F tendencies (e.g. act on emotion). I'm also something like 60% E and 40% I on the spectrum of that test, so I am not a typical extrovert either.

I'm cynical but not bitter. I can be a little perverted and immature at times but not in an overt way or when it is inappropriate to be that way. Sometimes I do tend to lack a proper brain to mouth filter. However, I am also open, honest, and loyal to a fault. My friends and "doing the right and honorable thing" always come first for me. I'm caring and compassionate and totally underappreciated and underestimated. I won't give up on or stop believing in people, even sometimes when I should. I'll also be the first to get my hands dirty helping with just about anything. I rarely act my age and tend fit in more with people a decade younger than me.

I love outdoor things, and want to try many more - I never climbed and would love to try (for example). I've been known to storm chase and love the smell after a good storm. I love the sound the wind makes through the trees on a cool Wyoming summer night. My passion is for atmospheric science - specifically clouds and how they form down to the sub-micron level. I'm also up for road tripping and outdoor adventure particularly hiking and camping out west. I'm terrible at dancing/singing. I'm not currently "fit" but have started working on that - and not just for a potential mate's visual pleasure but to improve myself and my life. So like me for who I can and will be and move on if you think you need a six pack and bulging biceps over brains and a great sense of humor...

I have a HUGE geek streak and like to watch sci-fi and anime (though I am hardly hardcore with either), am a total gamer (I have both a PS4 and Xbox One but prefer the PC platform - Steam FTW), I also like card and board games. In general, I'm good with going out or just staying in and making it a Netflix night (or if you are a geek like me doing nerdy things like tabletop gaming and stuff like that). Although, I'm way done with the bar hopping party phase of life I am not necessarily against going out and doing something crazy and fun once in a while - particularly concerts and outdoor festivals or beer gardens.

Politically I am moderate - socially liberal and fiscally conservative (Libertarian Party). I was a Green Party member for many years but have come to embrace the ideas of complete liberty. Though, I do lean left: I care about the environment and accept climate change as an Atmospheric Scientist who has seen and worked with both observational data and numerical models. I also agree that the gun issue is getting way out of control, despite being a staunch supporter of my constitutional right to defend myself and my property - though I do not own a firearm (guns actually do nothing for me. It's an ideology thing). I believe in equality for all and that we don't live in a Democracy but rather an Oligarchy that is skewed to favor the top 1%. I only tend to differ from most liberal minded folk in how this can best be fixed.

Religiously I am a "scientific skeptic" as Carl Sagan would say it...that is I am an Agnostic Atheist. I follow no faith, don't believe in higher powers or afterlives, and require scientific evidence to back up any claim. However, I remain open minded and am in no way intolerant or closed minded to anyone else's faith. I grew up Catholic but renounced it long ago. For me, things emphatically do NOT "happen for a reason" as this would be at odds with the accepted and experimentally verified tenets of Quantum Mechanics!

NOTE: I'm allergic to cats...
What I’m doing with my life
Not giving up on my dream to be a scientist...

I'm a lifelong learner...or if some would have you believe a "professional student." I have an MS in Physics from UIC. I just finished an MS in Atmospheric Science in Wyoming (where I lived for three years). Working for a year as a Systems Engineer for the DoD again before, hopefully, finishing my Ph.D. in another atmospheric science program (hoping for U of I Urbana-Champaign) since I finished the MS after the deadlines for Fall 2016 enrollment. I'm always taking free online courses too - edX, Coursera, etc.

I love to learn. I love to take in everything there is to know about this amazing and beautiful world we live in.

I'm a Chicago kid born and raised (actually from in the city limits, south side originally and have lived on the north side. I am not from Naperville or what have you and lay claim to the city like a lot of people do).

I loved living in WY and do still long to live out west. I want to ultimately land back in CO or in the Pacific Northwest after I finish my doctorate, which other than meeting a life partner, is the only dream, ambition, and goal in life that I have other than striving to be a "good person."

Otherwise, I'm always trying to find the question that goes with "42."
I’m really good at
Math, science, video games, and sizing up people and situations. I'm GREAT at being a friend - you should really give me a chance, if nothing else, just for that.

I'm also good at cooking...badly...for you. I'm good at cleaning and staying somewhat organized while still managing to forget to throw out the empty beer case in the fridge. My desk is always a mess.

Oh, and I'm OK at photography and computer programming.
The first things people usually notice about me
My quirky sense of humor. Probably my typically unkempt hair too. Possibly that I'm a bit crazy...

I don't know how "attractive" I am (that would seem to be subjective between people anyway) and I will likely never message anyone with a profile that demands an "attractive man" Since no one is throwing themselves at me I assume I'm more witty and funny than sexy. :-P

I'm also a bit self-deprecating at times, although I paradoxically do have my moments of outbursts of overflowing ego too.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, Lord of the Rings, A Song of Ice and Fire, the Dragonlance series...

Shows: Walking Dead, Breaking Bad, Doctor Who, Quantum Leap, Dexter, Weeds, Sons of Anarchy, Shameless, Ray Donovan, The Brink, Voltron: Legendary Defender, Game of Thrones...

Music: Paramore, Flyleaf, Linkin Park, Korn... Also a big fan of compositions found in video games, especially like the Final Fantasy soundtracks...

Movies: The Hangover, Forgetting Sarah Marshall, Dr. Horrible's Sing-Along Blog, Scott Pilgrim vs. the World, Boondock Saints...

Food: Lasagna, Fettuccine Alfredo...
The six things I could never do without
There is nothing I could "never" do without, but the six "nice to haves" in my life are:

1) Family and close friends,
2) Learning new things,
3) Working internet and a good computer,
4) Things to do with someone I care about,
5) A job that is at least somewhat fufilling, and
6) My dog.

Obviously, the snarky things people say like "air, breathing, etc." too...
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Science, mathematics, philosophy, video games, time travel, baseball, the environment, sex, politics and life, the universe, and everything.
On a typical Friday night I am
No typical.

Statistically speaking: sometimes out and about, sometimes playing online games - especially World of Warcraft with friends, sometimes just relaxing with Netflix or Hulu on, sometimes gaming alone in a dark room, sometimes reading, but...mostly studying/working on research...
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I play D&D. Full on, complete with polyhedral dice, minis, maps, books, and pencil and paper. Yes, I am a mega-nerd.
You should message me if
A) You don't subscribe to the "men have to make first contact" norm & (1) you are at least a little geeky and/or (2) can at least tolerate my geekiness. Can be real and not superficial or materialistic. If You want to talk to someone new or looking to make a new friend (I'm OK with having a female friend out of this if there is no spark).

B) I messaged you and you are interested in at least talking a bit or want to let me know you aren't really interested.

I'm always a bit guarded so don't expect me to suggest meeting up right away. I also am bad at small talk over IM since there are no cues like body language to help me out.

P.S. I let my paid membership lapse from time to time so I won't see if you like me...