27Austin, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I grew up in a place called Peachtree City, GA. I don't really have a Southern accent, but some people pick up on it from time to time. It's a pretty neat place, but not ideal for people of the liberal persuasion. I come from a Southern Baptist family, and therefore I tend to be on the mildly conservative side.

By that, I do not mean to imply that I am self-loathing or Republican (I am neither) - Politics depress me, and I try to stay out of it.

Generally speaking, I tend to be positive and energetic. I'm always singing, whether it is at home cooking or cleaning, walking to class, or randomly serenading someone in the hall. I love to be around other people, to go out and have a good time, but there are times when I can be terribly unsocial. I'm actually rather shy, and I struggle to meet new people in normal situations. I played soccer for years, so I do love playing sports and being active, but I'm out of practice due to school, which is sad. I love to dance (ballet, Latin, or other), and I tend to do it in inappropriate places.

I'm a kid at heart, but I can be serious when I need to. I'm a caring, loyal, and intelligent individual, and though I am relatively young, I would certainly be willing to settle down with someone.
What I’m doing with my life
I recently completed my masters' degree at Northwestern University in music (oboe) performance. I moved to Austin early in 2015 to study with the oboe teacher at UT. Currently, some of my income comes from selling oboe reeds that I make by hand. If you don't know what an oboe or a reed is, you should look it up - it will be your "something new" you learn today.

I'm in a period of transition, so I am seeing where life takes me. I guess I am trying to prepare to take orchestral auditions, so that means if I were to win an audition, I would relocate to that city. For now, I'm teaching private music lessons to about 10 students, and I've got an extra job to help with stability. If I can get enough students and/or enough performance opportunities, I could see myself staying in Austin.
I’m really good at
Smiling. Not that my smile is dazzling or anything, I just do it a lot.

Being awkward. Please accept that.
The first things people usually notice about me
That my facial hair is red. And they like to ask me if I know it's red, which I still find amusing.

People have also told me that I'm rather graceful.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Well, this is tough, and it could be a very extensive list, but I'll be general:

Books: Popular ones, such as Harry Potter, Twilight (I'm mildly ashamed), the Host, Life of Pi, etc. Some classic literature, and some not so classic, like Shadow of the Wind. I'm a terribly slow reader, and I don't usually make it my prime leisurely activity.

Movies: I pretty much like all movies that I watch (I stay away from Will Farrell-like comedies, but that doesn't mean I won't enjoy them). I will not enjoy horror movies. Most other ones, though, are lovely. I usually find a reason to cry, whether it's sad or happy....

I'm a musician, so I like a lot of music. Really vulgar rap isn't really for me, but neither is country. I sing a lot of broadway, and I'm in favor of pop. Although I know that I should, I don't often make classical music my first choice for listening.

I haven't had a TV in my room for years, and because I know that I have an addictive personality, I try to avoid watching TV, especially the popular shows. I actually really like anime (I haven't grown up yet) - I watched all 366 episodes of Bleach online last year - I am both impressed with and ashamed of myself. :/

Food. I love it. I go through phases of really healthy eating, but it is complimented by regular intake of terribly unhealthy food. For example, I lived waaaaay too close to Taco Bell in grad school....
Six things I could never do without
My family
Cocoa Butter
Chocolate (and the like)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What other people think. It's not the healthiest of habits, but it's true. I do think about boys quite often, and there is usually some sort of song in my head.
On a typical Friday night I am
I work most nights these days, but if I didn't, I don't think there would be a "typical" with me. If there's a party at a friend's place, I'll go. If some friends want to hang out and keep a low profile, I'm game. I may just stay in and practice or make reeds. I'd be perfectly content playing videogames or watching netflix.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
My parents made me see a counselor after coming out. Subsequently, I can pretty much talk about anything. Just ask.
You should message me if
you think something significant could come of it. I used to say that I wouldn't initiate, but I'm getting more courageous about messaging someone first (mainly because I don't hear from them....and then I still don't, but whatever). I'm usually put off by people being too forward, so I'm usually willing to message back if you don't make me uncomfortable. You need not look like a model in order for me to find you interesting (though I am certainly not opposed). That being said, please say something interesting - I find "hey" difficult to work with.
The two of us