28San Luis Obispo, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am a Cal Poly SLO graduate of biochemistry, originally from a small town in the central valley, CA. Since graduating, I've been a data curator at a biotech company in Silicon Valley, a cook at Disneyland, a professional Irish dancer in LA, a lab tech for another biotech company, a high school chemistry and physics teacher in Oregon, and now I'm a health educator for a non-profit.

I'm pretty independent, respectful, service-minded, and intentional. I love to laugh and try to enjoy the simple things.

I have a lot of interests. Food, science, nature, travel, health, and art are pretty high up there on my list. I play golf (mostly with my dad now-a-days) and volleyball. I've visited 21 countries so far (mostly in Europe), and during the Fall of 2011 I did a cross-country road trip across the US with my brother. I sing for fun, dabble in piano and watercolor, and was an Irish dancer for 10 years. I have a pretty calm and relaxed personality already, but hiking, cooking, or going to the gym helps me relax and clear my head.

I studied abroad in Copenhagen and really liked their concept of "hygge." (roughly translates to "coziness") I'm convinced that's their secret to happiness. (well, that, income equality, a culturally homogenous society, and an overuse of emoticons) So I really value time spent sitting with friends, drinking and eating together, and having a good conversation.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm re-routing. I'm now what I like to call a "recovering teacher" and am applying to medical school this summer and maybe some PhD programs later this year. I'm working at a non-profit and taking a full load of classes at the community college.
I’m really good at
calling people back, listening, forgetting movie plot lines, surviving on bread while traveling, remaining calm in stressful situations, not remaining calm during scary movies (I'm a jumper), finishing a gallon of milk wayyy before its expiration date.

I also try to make the best out of a situation, which makes for fun times when waiting in line or stuck in traffic. Metaphorically speaking, it's less about the destination and more about the journey! WHOOP WHOOP!
The first things people usually notice about me
My smile? It's my default expression.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I'm a foodie. Food network. Cooks Illustrated (a subscription was actually a Christmas present!). I try new foods whenever I can.

Memoirs of a Geisha, Maya Angelou's I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings (Looooved that one! Gah!), anything my David Sedaris...

Imogen Heap is my most listened to artist (Garden State soundtrack?), but I also really like hip hop and top 40's shit the kids are listening to. :-) I also like live classical music and New Orleans turned me on to zydeco.

NPR is the BEST!!! That's when I practice my accents in the car too. hahah

Movie/TV Favorites: Most documentaries. Anything food related. Dramas with a strong female lead? Haha. I like Grace and Frankie, House of Cards, A Chef's Table, Game of Thrones, etc.
Six things I could never do without
Good food, good friends, and good times... times two.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
"Why do I feel like I'm forgetting something?"
"I wonder if she's going to eat that."
"world news is much better than local news."
"that is definitely going into the music video."
"Why is this Christmas song stuck in my head?"
On a typical Friday night I am
Hanging out with friends or housemates, mostly.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I wore mostly sweatpants to school until I was in 6th grade. Comfort first. :-)

Once I broke my thumb (I didn't want to tell my parents so I just put a band aid on it) and now one's shorter than the other.
You should message me if
you think we'd get along! I'm looking to meet new people to hang out with, date depending on our compatibility.
The two of us