jds888
30Cambridge, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
jds888
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm originally from Portland, OR, went to college in Chicago, and now find myself in Cambridge.

I'm working on a PhD in sociology focusing on global health and human rights. Like thinking about movements for social justice and health equity.

Grab a beer or coffee some time?
What I’m doing with my life
Trying to spend as much time on my bike and outside as possible.

Excited for a research summer, living it up in the greater People's Republic of Camberville.
I’m really good at
Thinking.
Talking.
Movement building.
Pie baking.
Ping pong.
Simcity3000.
The first things people usually notice about me
My red beard.
Chacos.
Dazzling wit and charm.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: these days, too much Bourdieu, Latour, and Deleuze. In the past though: The Wind Up Bird Chronicle, Consider the Lobster, Pathologies of Power, The Plague, Consilience, Infinite Jest, The Comedians, On the Road, Grapes of Wrath. Recently have been reading Teju Cole, Katherine Boo, Joan Didion, Charles Bukowski, and Haruki Marukami. My favories are anything by A. Kleinman, P. Farmer, A. Sen.

Movies: Braveheart, Annie Hall, Caddyshack, Anchorman,
The Big Lebowski, Fantastic Mr. Fox, The Life Aquatic, Airplane!

Shows: Breaking Bad, Louie, Seinfeld, Curb Your Enthusiasm, Weeds, Mad Men.

Music: Arcade Fire, Woody Guthrie, Fleet Foxes, M83, M. Ward, Tom Waits, Neil Young, The Mountain Goats, Yo Yo Ma, Broken Social Scene, LCD Soundsystem, Kanye, Future Islands, TV on the Radio, Bon Iver, WU LYF.

Food: almost all.
Six things I could never do without
Strong community.
Family.
Books.
MacBook Air.
Iphone.
Clean underwear.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
1) How to live a moral life amidst great danger and uncertainty.
2) What's the estimated travel time to the nearest Chipotle?
On a typical Friday night I am
Beers with my friends, a stroll along the Charles, a late night bike ride, or a good book.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I worry that this website is the embodiment of staying "safely in the world of liking."

"The big risk here, of course, is rejection. We can all handle being disliked now and then, because there’s such an infinitely big pool of potential likers. But to expose your whole self, not just the likable surface, and to have it rejected, can be catastrophically painful. The prospect of pain generally, the pain of loss, of breakup, of death, is what makes it so tempting to avoid love and stay safely in the world of liking."

http://www.nytimes.com/2011/05/29/opinion/29franzen.html?pagewanted=all&_r=0
You should message me if
You want to get down at the Cantab/Middlesex/Phoenix Landing.
You'd like to see a show with me on a weeknight.
You want to cook some tasty food and share it with friends.
You want to carpe the mo'fuckin diem.
More
The two of us
--
Lifestyle
--
Dating
--
Other
--
Ethics
--
Sex
--
Religion