jessg89
26 Durango, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
jessg89
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Durango. Curly-haired. ENFP. Spiritual. Honest.

I'm pretty laid back, but I will stand up and yell at the TV during Bears games.

I write. Mostly about myself. I find it incredibly therapeutic. I harbor the (semi) secret ambition that someday the things I have written about myself will help others.

Some people might consider me new-agey or a hippie. I just think it's important to recognize the ways in which everything is connected. That means that I pay attention to how I treat other people, the earth, and my own body and spirit.

I pay a lot of attention. I pick up on subtleties in interactions that other people might not. Friends, family, and complete strangers are often comfortable telling me things they probably wouldn't share with anyone else. I tend to approach problems from multiple angles and perspectives. I've been told these traits make me well-suited for a career as a therapist. I'm inclined to agree.
What I’m doing with my life
Finishing my Bacherlor's degree in Psychology, waiting tables, hiking, basking in the beauty of SW Colorado, planning trips to the desert, eating locally/sustainably, volunteering and researching graduate programs in counseling.
I’m really good at
Cooking, parallel parking, remembering people's go-to cocktails, finding good coffee shops to hang out in, giving advice, figuring people out, blasting Juicy J, multitasking, floating the river, being prompt, being supportive.
The first things people usually notice about me
My hair or maybe my ass. Both are pretty hard to miss.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I love Ethiopian food, Salman Rushdie, Fleet Foxes and House of Cards right now

Food: I recently started eating meat again after a five-year hiatus, and so I've been experimenting a lot lately. I love sushi, Thai, Ethiopian, Mexican food. I also tend to eat what my friends refer to as squirrel food: quinoa, goji berries, kale salad, almonds, avocado, etc.

Music: I love bluegrass, blues, hip-hop, folk music, rock and roll. I love the Paul Simon, Jay-Z, Wild Belle, Juicy J, Joni Mitchell, Local Natives

Books: I read a lot, I'm usually in the middle of three or four books at once. I read a lot of non-fiction, speficially about human nature, neuroscience, or psychology, but I love a good novel. Recent favorites include "Autobiography of a Yogi," "Midnight's Children." I love David Sedaris, Joan Didion. I write personal essays, so I read a lot of that genre.

Tv: Parks and Rec, The League, Arrested Development, Law and Order: SVU, Grey's Anatomy, 30 Rock, Freaks and Geeks. Comedy/drama.

Movies: Almost Famous, Eternal Sunshine, Rachel Getting Married, The Departed, pretty much anything by Judd Apatow. I just saw "Safety not Guaranteed" and loved it. I haven't seen a movie in theaters in years, but watch Netflix all the time.
The six things I could never do without
Something to read
Music that moves me (physically, emotionally)
Breakfast foods
Adventure (in the city, forest, mountains, ocean)
The Internet (if I'm being totally honest)
Bliss
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Elevated consciousness, Spanglish, making things work right here, right now.
On a typical Friday night I am
Probably working. If not, you'll likely find me drinking a Moscow Mule.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I recently heard a Lady Gaga song that I actually liked. One song, that's all.
You should message me if
You think it's a good idea; you used to smoke pot but don't anymore; you love live music and can recommend an awesome show.
More