33 London, United Kingdom
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I recently moved to London for work. So far, so good, but still getting fully settled. Before that, I lived in NYC for 5 yrs, which was an awesome experience... It's the closest thing to home for me. I also lived in Boston for awhile, but am originally from Texas.

So basic qualities... Honest, kind, friendly, genuine. It seems hollow when listed, so I suppose that's just something you get a sense of when you meet someone. I value life experience, which means challenging myself, traveling, taking chances, and enjoying friends that are different from me.

Realizing it sounds cliche, I do have a sense for adventure. I travel at least one weekend a month, and I aim to make that somewhere new whenever possible. I spent 3 weeks in Australia/New Zealand in Nov/Dec, and just lined up my travel schedule for the spring.

I used to play sports on a weekly basis - mostly volleyball, but am just getting back into it here. My season starts in April! Also, not really a fan of watching sports (I have no favorite teams) - I just like being active.
What I’m doing with my life
I work in Finance within Commodities, which I enjoy, but ultimately I want to take this experience and apply it to something I feel more directly invested in. I've been in the industry for 5 years and it brought me to London, so I can't complain about the available opportunities.
I’m really good at
listening, cooking, problem solving, board games/card games, directions, and volleyball... it's simply my favorite hobby
The first things people usually notice about me
my height, then my eyes... maybe my smile too?
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Movies: I'm a big indie film fan. I just like that they're a little more realistic and gritty, and I'm not watching the same plots over and over again.

Books: I like a variety, but the most recent books I've read are The Hunger Games series, Stumbling on Happiness, A Song of Ice and Fire (i.e. The Game of Thrones Series), and The Next 100 Years.

Shows: I don't watch much TV but I do get caught up on some TV series via Netflix. A few recent ones I've watched in no particular order include Dexter, The IT Crowd, Modern Family, Breaking Bad, Downton Abbey.
The six things I could never do without
my family
my friends (they're like my family in the city)
coffee (it's my only addiction, but at least a socially acceptable one)
sports (playing, not watching)
glass of wine/whisky
my iphone (I was a slow adopter, but I love it now)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
where I want to travel to next...
On a typical Friday night I am
There are a few options here: 1) I am out with friends - normally after work drinks or a late dinner; 2) I am home because after a long week I love to sometimes stay in, open a bottle of wine, and watch a movie; or 3) I'm out of town on a weekend excursion
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I almost never watch TV, but I have cable and ordered HBO simply for the True Blood series. I know, I know... don't judge. **Update** I've now cancelled my cable, so I have a 42" TV that I just use to stream netflix