46 Redwood City, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm a fun-and-games-loving guy, trying to make a difference - specifically in education. I'm divorced, and looking to meet the right person, or just new friends.

For fun, I love going out for dancing or karaoke every so often, but more regularly I like just reading a book or writing or chatting about various topics, from science in education to Icelandic sagas or somesuch. Besides going out, I love getting together with friends for gaming - often role-playing games, as well as board games and card games.

I'm currently working at an educational technology company in SF, after a stint at teaching after a career as a physicist and programmer. I enjoy working in education, which combines my recent background as a teacher with my earlier background in both science and programming. I love teaching; I love science; I love kids; and I love being creative and interesting.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm trying to make a difference with things I care about, where the main one is public education. I work in educational technology these days, from a background in all three of science, programming, and teaching.

I also active in gaming and local theater.

I'm keeping up with my friends and hobbies as well, and I have a son from my prior marriage - the best kid in the world, in my unbiased opinion - and my 50% time with him is a joy.
I’m really good at
I'm really good at singing, role-playing games, making cookies, science (especially physics), math, programming, making lists of arbitrary things, amusing kids, and making a fool of myself.

I'm pretty good at teaching and dancing - and would like to get better.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: I love a lot of non-fiction such as Guns Germs and Steel and 1491, along with historical stories like the Icelandic sagas and Jane Austen, and a lot of fantasy and science fiction novels by authors like Ursula LeGuin and Naomi Novik.

Movies: I'm a big film buff, and I love a range of genres from horror to romantic comedies. Some of my favorites are The Big Lebowski, Bringing Up Baby, and Big Trouble in Little China, .

TV Shows: I never watch broadcast television, and even consider it evil - but I have gotten into watching some shows on DVD. My all-time favorites would include The Wire and MASH.

Music: I like a lot of music with some fondness for various mash-ups and dance music along with folk and classic rock... Sons of the Never Wrong, The Cars, The Beatles, Paul Simon, Everclear, Jez Lowe and the Bad Pennies, Bob Dylan, David Massengill, Talking Heads.

Food: My tastes have shifted over time. I love Korean food along with Thai, El Salvadoran, and various Mediterranean. I love tofu and some other vegetarian options without being at all vegetarian. I still have a few weaknesses that I try to limit - like bacon and Dr. Pepper.
The six things I could never do without
My family, my friends, and my passions. Laughter, singing, and playing games.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
teaching, education, history, myth, physics, parenting, role-playing games, civil rights, queer rights, feminism, gender, history of science, science fiction, singing, programming
On a typical Friday night I am
Relaxing and decompressing from the week, and preparing for Saturday night - when I love going out to a movie, getting together with friends for some game-playing, singing karaoke, or going dancing.
You should message me if
You see something interesting and would like to talk or meet.