jkemper2
30 Linthicum Heights, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
jkemper2
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm an easy-going geeky guy who's a bit shy. I'm seeking other geeky girls, or at least geek-friendly.

I tend to be pretty laid-back and easy going. I try not to rush into anything and look at both sides of an issue before forming an opinion.

Even though I'm usually pretty mellow about most things, I'm really passionate about the things I really enjoy.

I also enjoy traveling and trying new things, but at the same time, I can also get pretty nervous about new experiences. I'm looking for someone with an open mind who can show me lots of cool places to eat, things to try, etc.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm a software engineer for a large defense company, and I am currently pursuing a Master's Degree in Computer Science.

In my free time, I like to play video games and read. I also like to travel whenever I can. It seems that I have friends in almost every state, and someday I'd like to visit them all.

I have also lost 40 lbs since June 2011 and recently completed a 5k run/obstacle course. I learned the hard way that running on a treadmill is not quite the same as running cross-country, but it was a lot of fun, and I hope to try and do better next year.
I’m really good at
finding the humor or silver lining in an otherwise bad situation:
Most of my humor is based on observation. I typically don't say much, but I do believe that I have an appropriate thing to say in most situations.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm usually quite shy, especially when meeting new people. However, I am always willing to have a fun, interesting conversation.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Game of Thrones, Lord of the Rings, Discworld, Fables

Movies: Just about anything, except horror (with a few exceptions). My tastes range between classics like Casablanca and The Godfather to raunchy comedies like The Hangover.

Shows: Big Bang Theory, Modern Family, Mythbusters, Archer, Star Trek, The Wire, Doctor Who, Agents of SHIELD, Walking Dead, Firefly, classic Simpsons episodes

Music: I enjoy the classics. Classic Rock, Classical Music, and Classic Video Game Music. Really, though, I'll listen to just about anything except rap, country, or Ke$ha.

Food: Steak! Crab Cakes! Texas Barbecue! And most recently, Sushi!
The six things I could never do without
In no particular order...
Video Games
GOOD beer
My family
My Kindle
Good food
Learning
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Just about anything, really. My mind has a tendency to wander a lot.
On a typical Friday night I am
Some nights, I go out in search of a good beer. Baltimore seems to have a lot of really good bars with their own special brews, and I always enjoy tasting them. Other nights, I just want to chill at home with Netflix. It depends on what kind of mood I'm in.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I never learned to ride a bicycle. Incidentally, anyone who tells you something is as easy riding a bike clearly has no idea of just how many forces are involved in keeping it stable. Seriously, look it up on Wikipedia.
You should message me if
You are looking for a nice, down-to-earth guy. Or if you're looking for someone to geek out with.
More