62Seattle, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
** Nov 2013: Apologies to anyone who has tried to get hold of me through OKC: for various reasons hadn't looked at my account in years, and apparently OKC wasn't forwarding my messages to my email, so I might as well have fallen off the edge of the earth as far as this site was concerned. **

From New York, transplanted to Seattle in 1977. I like music, art, reading/writing (mostly non-fiction, especially history), photography. In all of these I produce about as much as I consume. I'm serious about my career, but also serious about work/life balance. I like to travel, though I haven't done much along those lines lately.

In an open relationship.

Politics: "non-sectarian" left.


Nací en Nueva York, vivo en Seattle. Me gusta la música, el arte, escribir / leer (por gran parte no ficción, especialmente la historia), la fotografía; en estos todos, produzco tanto como consumo. Serioso también acerca de mi carrera, pero trato de mantener una balanza, usualmente con éxito. Me gusta viajar, pero de momento hago un poco de hiatus.

En una relación abierta.

Politicamente a la izquierda.


Eu vorbesc numai puţin romaneste, dar pot sa citesc: sunt american, dar am lucrat odata şase luni la Bucureşti, şi sunt bun cu limbi.

Am nascut in New York; sunt acum la Seattle. Mi-e place muzica, arta, lectura / scrire (n cea mai mare parte - cum se spune in limba romana? - non-fiction, in special historie), fotografie; in toţi, sunt atut de producator cum consumator. Serios de asemenea despre cariera mea, incerc de echilibrz entre cariera si viaţa, de usual cu reusita. Mi-e place caletorie, dar sunt in hiatus de moment.

Într-o relatie deschisa.

Politica: de stânga (dar stângul american este mai diferite de stângul roman).


Deutsch ist nur meine vierte Sprache (hinter von Englisch, Spanisch und Rumanisch). Ich kann es lesen besser dann ich kann es schreiben.

New Yorker transplantiert in Seattle. Fett auf Musik, Kunst, Lesen / Schreiben (meist Sachbücher, vor allem der Geschichte), Photographie. In all diesen Bereichen, über die ich gleich zu produzieren als zu konsumieren. Auch ernst meiner Karriere, aber ich versuche, es im Gleichgewicht zu halten, und in der Regel gelingt. Mag zu reisen, aber ich bin ein bisschen eine Lücke auf, dass in diesem Moment.

In einer offenen Beziehung.

Politisch: links.
What I’m doing with my life
Living in Seattle, working in computers (software development), doing a lot of life drawing, writing (mostly non-fiction: I was a mainstay of Wikipedia for years, though a bit less so lately) and photography (Wikimedia Commons seems to be getting the time Wikipedia used to get from me), riding my bicycle, eating a lot of sushi, and hanging out with my friends.

Vivo en Seattle, trabajo en la informatica (desarollo de software). Hago dibujos de la natura), escribo (por gran parte no ficción: era gran contribuyente a la Wikipedia en los años '00) y tomo muchos fotos (de manera similar: Wikimedia Commons), ando en bicicleta, como mucho sushi, y paso el tiempo con mis amigos.
I’m really good at
Whole systems thinking, most things intellectual, many things artistic. I write very well (and I'm a damn good editor). I'm not a bad guitarist, either.
The first things people usually notice about me
Probably that I'm pretty intense.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: ''Gravity's Rainbow'' by Thomas Pynchon, ''Shame'' by Salman Rushdie, ''Lolita'' by Vladimir Nabokov, ''The Gift'' by Lewis Hyde, and ''Jazz'' by Toni Morrison

Movies: ''Aguirre, Wrath of God'' (Werner Herzog), ''Children of Paradise'' (Marcel Carné), ''The General'' (Buster Keaton), The ''Saragossa Manuscript'' (Wojciech Has)

Music: Elvis Costello, Kurt Weill, Charles Mingus, techno etc. for dancing, Janelle Monáe, Akwid (but not their English-language stuff).

Food: sushi, more sushi, and a lot of food from around the Mediterranean
Six things I could never do without
Air, water, some food, a roof over my head? Maybe books come before that roof. Friends and music are right in there, too. And, unfortunately, my C-PAP (I'm afraid I have to sleep hooked up to a machine).
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Y'know, I spend a lot of time thinking, but I don't spend a lot of time keeping track of what it is that I've been thinking about.
On a typical Friday night I am
Either out on the town (music? theater? a movie? art opening?) or at home writing: it's about 50-50.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm not sure this is a "most private thing" but, weirdly (to my own thinking) OkCupid types me as RGSM. Yeah, sure, I'm very open (and honest) about sexuality, and I've had my share of casual relationships, but I've also had many, many strong friendships (some erotic, some not); the couple of times I've really been in love have been the best periods of my life; and anyone I'm more than halfway serious about had better be damn smart (not exactly a playboy characteristic). Brains over looks, pretty much any time it comes down to a choice between the two. Of course, both together is best.

I think true love is wonderful, but I don't think it can be manufactured, and I don't believe in sitting on the shelf waiting for it. I think a lot of people fuck up their lives trying to create a simulacrum of romantic love.
You should message me if
You want to get to know me well enough to learn the private things I don't write about on the Internet. Or if you just share my taste in movies, books, and music.
The two of us