40Washington, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
From the Arctic to the Amazon, I'm a bit of an explorer. A recovering entertainment and sports journalist. I like architecture, travel, good friends, and great conversations.

My life has been great...and varied. I've worked as a cattle ranch hand, a construction worker, and even a 1-800-Flowers operator back in college. I've got great friends, but I'm usually too busy connecting other people than to connect with someone myself.

I'm a former punk rock kid who still enjoys dive bars, hardcore shows and outsider art. I'm also secretly a Southern redneck despite my tattoos and social scene. I'm most comfortable in the city or in the middle of nowhere.

I am dependable, interesting, and social.

I'm kind, often to my own detriment.

My friends know I have outlandish (but, true) stories that begin with "Did I ever tell you about the time that I" a) got held up by junta soldiers in the jungles of Burma, b) got shipwrecked on an island for three days, c) got attacked by a pit bull named Daisy, d) sprained my ankle in the basement of the White House, e) got stuck in the Alamo during a hail storm with a random group of Texas Republican women?, f) was chased out of town by a gang of polygamist cops?... And, so, so many more. My friends constantly mock me for this.
What I’m doing with my life
Although I find my work extremely fulfilling, I'm known for not really talking about it (aren't we more than what we do?). So...

I'm really interested in fostering cultural and creative innovation in D.C. I've never quite shaken my journalistic training, so whenever I travel I'm always probing and interviewing people doing interesting things in art, nightlife and culture in cities around the world. I think D.C. is a great place to live, and my hobby is helping it become more well-rounded.

I'm slowly working on two non-fiction books. I'll write them eventually, but in the meantime I've ghostwritten parts of others.

Although I'm more a t-shirt and jeans causual type of guy, I work a lot with DJs, party promoters, nightlife hosts and journalists. So, my social schedule is pretty robust and chances are that you'll catch me out more nights than in. That sometimes makes me sad.

Friends are like gold to me. A great conversation gets me off as much as anything in bed. I like to balance my creative side with the heft of intellectual stimulation.

I like adventure travel (and travel in general). I grew up in Florida, so I have a fear of feeling like a tourist. I've been to some weird places. I'm more apt to travel to a war zone than the beach (although, Cape Cod is quite lovely).
I’m really good at
Being a friend, geography, writing, sex. Cuddling.
The first things people usually notice about me
My beard? I'm tall and beefy. I'm also terrible at remembering names.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Music: Hardcore, Punk, bluegrass, country, indie, Russian pop, Cumbia, Aretha Franklin.

Books: Anything non-fiction. Our world has so many great stories. Although, "Galápagos" by Kurt Vonnegut is my favorite book.

Food: Street food. Favorites: Nigiri (Japanese), Pupusas (Salvadorean), fish tacos (Bajan), arepas (Colombian/Paisa), chorba (Romanian).
Six things I could never do without
Passport, street food, intellectual stimulation, hair products, friends, adventure.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Network theory, my friends, "big picture" social patterns, evolutionary biology, science.

I like learning languages. I always swear I can't speak anything other than English, but in a pinch I can get by in Romanian, Russian, Italian, Spanish, and Japanese. I can't speak French. I don't know if I've ever met a Frenchman who thinks anyone other than the French can speak French. But, I get along fine with Quebecois patois. Basically...ask me to speak another language and I can't. But, if I get a call from a friend in another country I find myself slipping into another tongue.
On a typical Friday night I am
Out...or, out of town. When in DC, chances are that I'm talking with a buddy in a DJ booth, on the dancefloor with a reporter, or in front of the camera. It's kind of my second job to be on the scene (about 50% straight places, 50% gay places) yet that really isn't me at all. I keep dreaming about a night just being on a couch with a boy.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm afraid of deserts. But, I love them and go to one whenever I can even if they freak me out. I often just spend days hiking in a desert wilderness when I have the time.

Also, chances are that if you're hitting on me at a bar it is going right over my head. I'm slow on the uptake there. I'm not the best at interpersonal social cues.
You should message me if
I love guys with an edge. That could mean: tattoos, a strong fashion sense, a deep comfort in the fact that you don't have tattoos or a strong fashion sense, an unabashed dork, intellect, a passionate interest, someone who likes to travel. Really, anything that makes you unique. I don't really have a type, but a quality guy is a huge turn on. I'm a sucker for a guy who is naturally sweet. But, open to all.
The two of us