45Lakeland, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I wish my real life was half as exciting as some of the dating profiles I read here and elsewhere. I would love to run marathons, CrossFit competitively, climb mountains, travel the world, and emulate Martha Stewart's homemaking prowess all before noon, but I'm afraid I fall short of the glory. Sure I'm trying to live vicariously through myself (Copyright a Dos Equis commercial), but I have a freaking job that I am obligated to show up for because they pay me. Not that I haven't done some of those things, but I only get so much vacation.

So, I'm pretty boring, I guess, but not necessarily in a bad way. I like to eat and drink well, even if it is cheeseburgers and beer. I have some adequate equipment in my kitchen, and I'm not afraid to use it. Doing this with family and friends is one of the things I really enjoy. I have cool friends, most of which I've known for a while, and some that I've known since I was 4 or 5. I don't think I make friends easily, but I seem to have a lot of long term relationships with cool people. I also really like to play golf, and I've been doing that since I was 10 or so. It keeps me outside and enables me to have an otherwise (mostly) harmless competitive outlet.

Of course I like to travel, but who doesn't? I had a jones for it when I was young, and I learned German when I was growing up because it was the most widely spoken language in Europe (population-wise) besides English. When I travel I like to fit in as best as I can, and I tend to learn as much as I can of the language and culture of a place before I get there because I would prefer to be as polite and unobtrusive as possible. This explains my marginal competency in French and current interest in learning Spanish. If I had it to do again I would have learned Spanish first, but we all make silly decisions when we are young. I am fortunate to have been to the places I have seen, and I am always planning to head somewhere else. I am probably not going to learn Vietnamese, Thai, Lao, or Cambodian. One has to draw the line somewhere.

I live in Lakeland, but I'm originally from Ohio. My office happens to be here, so it was convenient. It is still more of a commute than I want, though. When I lived in Connecticut after I got out of my undergrad, I had 7 minutes to work if I missed the light in town. Now, it is almost 30 minutes into the office, and I live in the same pitiful town. It is the worst drive of my job, and I drive all over the Southeast (Orlando is a close second). Ideally I would live somewhere that I wouldn't have to drive much at all, and I have looked into moving closer to Tampa.

So, yeah, I guess that's about it. If you've read this far and want to know more, just send me a message. I don't bite. Not hard, anyway.
What I’m doing with my life
Professionally, I am in business development for a food processing equipment company. I have a science background, but I much prefer this to being stuck in a lab. Personally? I am still trying to figure that out, but I'm collecting a bunch of, uh, wisdom along the way.
I’m really good at
cooking. My mother was a pretty good cook, and I got used to eating food that tasted good. When I went to college it became apparent that ramen and mac 'n cheese weren't going to cut it, so I taught myself how to cook. I've been doing it ever since, and I like to think I do a pretty decent job at it.
The first things people usually notice about me
That I'm tall? It is tough to tell because I'm not other people.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
When I make time to read, it is usually some well-written prose. Tom Robbins is perhaps my favorite author, although not all of his books are spectacular. I don't watch many movies, except when I'm on a plane, mostly because I think 85% of what Hollywood puts out is dreck. I watch a lot of sports on TV, but I also enjoy cooking shows, some travel programs, Wheeler Dealers, and just about anything Anthony Bourdain is doing. My musical tastes are somewhat eclectic, but I tend toward metal, jazz, and well-played instrumental or classical. I will eat just about anything except for insects and canned green beans.
Six things I could never do without
In no particular order:
Good sunglasses
A good pair of comfortable shoes
The freedom and convenience that a car provides
Golf clubs
A place to come home to, even though I do like being on the road
A cup of coffee in the morning. Not espresso, not some chi-chi coffee drink that takes 30 minutes to order at Starbucks, but a solid cup of coffee.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
how I can somehow get rid of my job but still live well. I would love to have more time for pretty much everything, but the bills have to get paid somehow.
You should message me if
you are not crazy, you have yourself somewhat together, and you aren't going to stab me or something. That would suck. It is OK if you are shy at first; so am I. You should have a lively mind and be open to discourse that, at times, seems like it comes out of left field. I am interested in a mutually supportive relationship, and you should be as well.
The two of us