jpay80
36 Manhattan, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
jpay80
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm originally from Boston, but have lived in the NYC area since 04' and love it. I'm not sure I'd want to raise a family in the city, but have no plans to leave anytime soon. I work pretty long hours, and try to make up for it by sacrificing sleep: I've gotten pretty good at functioning normally on five hours (and a fair amount of coffee). Interests include exploring the city, traveling, playing/watching sports, quality television, playing guitar/singing, and working out. I'm very intellectually curious and particularly enjoy reading and thinking about current events, economics/markets, psychology, philosophy and history.
What I’m doing with my life
I work in wealth management. I enjoy it, but lament how much of my week it consumes. I try to go out a couple days after work during the week and at least one night a weekend.
I’m really good at
Seeing the world from many different angles...
The first things people usually notice about me
My striking good looks.....kidding :) I actually have no idea- you'll have to tell me if we ever meet
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Food: Sushi is my favorite, but I'm not an overly picky eater - I enjoy a lot of different types of food

Music: I tend towards 60s, 70s type stuff - classic rock, soul, motown, folk. I also have a soft spot for early 90s R&B / hip hop. Favorites include Bob Dylan, The Beatles, Rolling Stones, Stevie Wonder.

Movies/TV: I think good contemporary movies are an endangered species (don't really care for Fast & Furious XXV), so TV tends to dominate my screen watching hours. The Wire is my all time favorite. More recently I've really enjoyed Game of Thrones and Silicon Valley

Books: Currently reading Capital in the Twenty-First Century by Thomas Picketty and Superforecasting: the are and science of prediction
The six things I could never do without
My Friends and Family
Books and The Economist
Weekends
Traveling
Coffee
Warm weather
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Where to travel to next. I'm heading to Russia this June
On a typical Friday night I am
These days... usually going to bed early so I can start my weekend bright-eyed and bushy-tailed. That may change now that the long cold winter is over
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
The first concert I ever went to was New Kids on the Block....the second?...Vanilla Ice.
You should message me if
If you're intelligent, outgoing and like what you see and read.
More