jr1185
30 Manhattan, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
jr1185
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
ENTJ

I'm a researcher who works in a bunch of different projects focused primarily on substance use and sexual behavior of gay/bi men and people with HIV. In my own research, I'm particularly interested in the impact that HIV has on guy's daily lives, particularly how stressful it is for them and how that influences their behavior. Also very interested in PrEP and working on a few studies related to that. I'm a workaholic during the week and then compartmentalize it all away on the weekend.

I'm a mix of two different people trapped in the same body - depending on my mood and circumstances, I either prefer sitting around doing nothing by myself or going out and being crazy with friends... Have a great family and friends who I like to spend time with but also have a solitary side. Love both good food and trashy food (e.g., going to the Olive Garden), educational television and sitcoms (though I rarely get into reality tv), and like using my brain a lot at times and not at all at others. Also, sometimes looking for Mr. Right and sometimes nothing at all... Maybe you can help me pick a side.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm a research scientist at an HIV research center - I oversee all of our data management and analyses and am actively involved in grant writing and publication. I also teach biostatistics to master's students getting their degrees in public health.
The first things people usually notice about me
I feel like it's different for everybody. My loud voice (as long as I'm not in one of those situations that makes me shy). My smile? The bright colors I'm wearing (or lack thereof depending on the season)?
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I like to binge watch tv on Netflix - some recent series gave been Friends, Brothers and Sisters, Revenge, Lost, Scandal, The West Wing, The Comeback... Typically also keep up with American Horror Story, Drag Race, True Blood, Game of Thrones, etc., though have been less good at this lately.

I like a lot of different types of music and it usually depends on my mood - I tend to let Spotify create radio stations for me.

In terms of food, my tastes vary. I love salad - condiments are my favorite part of food (especially vinegar), and salad is a great medium for condiments. I'm not a vegetarian, but I don't eat beef, pork, or other mammals - I eat seafood and poultry.
The six things I could never do without
The internet
A career
My family and friends
Vinegar
My iPhone/iPad
Talking
On a typical Friday night I am
Happy hour, karaoke, friends' apartments playing games and drinking, or sometimes just at home with Netflix...
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I usually find first dates to be awkward. Care to give me a new perspective?
You should message me if
You feel like it - I'm not looking for anything specific... I'm pretty open to whatever comes along.
More