58Tampa, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
[This is a rewrite, now that I know better]

My self summary. I was born in South Carolina, a real Mayberry type of town. Moved a lot so it was natural I went into the military when schooling was done. While serviing I traveled the world, got a dual BA (economics/poly sci) with every intention to become a lawyer, until I met a few.

Lots of changes later, I have a small office where I primarily provide small businesses working capital. Stifle the yawn, I won't go into that any further.

I can make a mean manicotti or braciole, but can't grill a steak or make fried chicken fried right.

I play great acoustical guitar as long as you're half way through a bottle of wine first.

I own my own car free and clear (apparently that's an issue for a lot of you.)

I do work out regularly and recently have really gotten into cycling, both touring and commuting.

I'm a christian but not religious. It's not a contradiction. Religions are man made concepts. Christianity comes from God.

Be warned, if we go out, I open doors, pick up the check, make sure you get to your door safe and don't talk about old relationships. I'm not really an old fashioned guy except when it comes to how a man should treat a woman.

I love kids and dogs and get along with them better than I do most adults. (They tend to be more honest and usually make more sense.)

I'd rather have one good friend than a network of acquaintances.

So what am I looking for? Ever go out to dinner. A nice quite place, a little dark. You get a bottle of wine to start. A conversation begins. And it just flows. You laugh. A small laugh. Like an inside joke. And it just keeps happening. Suddenly the waiter comes to tell you they are closing and you realize you'd been there all night and never ordered dinner?

That. I'm looking for that.
What I’m doing with my life
Starting over with a better plan. I'm focused on what's really important this time. I've learned a lot both from my successes and failures. Too bad they can't teach that stuff in school (would we have listened anyway?)

That's the long goal. More immediately, I'm now working on my Masters in Theology online and taking Krav Maga in person.

Also continuing to expand my business and help as many small businesses as I can.
I’m really good at
Listening and giving great advice. (Though I'm better at giving it than following it.)
Avid crossword fanatic. Can make a mean Manicotti or a tame morning omelet.
The first things people usually notice about me
I have prematurely gray hair, a big nose and a bubble butt.

Hey, you asked.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Favorite foods, mexican, italian and japanese.

If it's good, don't care about the genre. If it sucks, the genre isn't going to make me like it. Especially partial to old time jazz, blues and the Rat Pack.

Books: Fiction: Everything from Robert Ludlum to Umberto Eco. Non-fiction: Bible. C.S. Lewis. Milton Friedman, Subjects: economics, game theory, philosophy, politics.....
Six things I could never do without
A necessity is a luxury you've had too long. Not much I couldn't do without if I had to except having someone by my side.

That said.

1. God/Jesus
2. Daughter and G-kids
3. Health
4. Love
5. Ocean
6. Survival (off grid) skills.

Bonus item: A blackened prime rib from Charley's. (seriously, if you haven't had one, you don't know what I'm talking about)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Life, people, God, politics and philosophy and if I'm involved-my partner
On a typical Friday night I am
Open unless I'm busy, other wise I'm tied up,
in which case I wouldn't be very open, now would I.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I like old musicals and I'm not even gay, not even a little bit.
You should message me if
If any of what I posted appeals to you, if you're smarter than a fifth grader, if you like to be active, adventurous and romantic.
The two of us