43 Oakland, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I've been living in the bay area for almost 4 years now. Originally from Massachusetts, I moved to Oregon for grad school in 2005 and relocated to Oakland in 2009.
I teach music at an amazing school, intense work, very busy, and I really enjoy it.
I'm a musician, string bass, jazz and classical. I am not a “band guy”, and I really hate that definition for what I do. I never got a degree in music education. My background is in performance. I love my instrument and love to play, teach and connect with people through music and I’ve been very blessed to do that throughout my life.
Since I've been in Oakland I have been very focused on teaching and I haven't been performing as much, but I'm starting to get out and gig more often. I love all types of music and I enjoy seeing performances in a concert hall or at a dive bar. I have yet to see the SF symphony, let me know if you’re interested in going sometime. SF Jazz is incredible too, and there are some great concerts coming up.

I’m finally starting to settle into life here in the bay, it’s been a little tough at times. I landed here with only what fit in the car and the question if I’d made the right decision relocating hanging over my head. All my family and dearest friends are spread out across the country. Finding my place, socially, professionally, and musically is a continual work in progress.

I'm looking for a relationship that is honest and real. I am not into games. I love sarcasm and I have a wry sense of humor at times, but I am also direct and thoughtful. I look for beauty and meaning in the little things and I’d like to meet someone who has a similar appreciation and awareness of the connections that make this world so interesting.
What I’m doing with my life
Last summer I was involved in a production of the Odyssey on Angel Island with the WE Players. It was an incredible experience. The play took place all across the island, with actors, musicians and tech crew running all over the place to set the next scene. The entire show took about 6 hours. It was pure joy working with such amazing people on such a massive and beautiful project.

I started biking to work 3 days a week in January 2011, only missed a few days, and now I’m riding everyday. I love it! I might have put 50 miles on my car last month if that at all.
Biking has been part of my life for a long time, and I’ve found a great balance between exercise and work this year, it’s been incredibly positive.
I’m really good at
Listening. Ha! I bet all guys say that right?
It sounds like such a stereotypical, canned, and meaningless response to a big question.
But seriously, I do listen closely because communication is very important to me in all aspects of my life whether it's musical, educational or emotional. I don't play games, and I don't bullshit. That sort of junk just gets in the way of real connections. Honesty is impossible if you're not listening.
The first things people usually notice about me
I don't know, maybe my height?
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
My playlists are an experience in random association. From Bjork to Bach and Stevie Wonder to Ligeti and then some RJD2, it's a fun trip.

Favorite authors:
Robbins, Murakami, Vonnegut, Auster, so many more...
Currently reading The Emperor of all Maladies: A Biography of Cancer by Siddhartha Mukherjee, (fascinating book) and The Women by T.C. Boyle, a historical fiction about Frank Lloyd Wright.

All kinds of movies. Drama, action, sci-fi, classics.
I've been checking out "Mad Men", it's a really well crafted show, enjoyable.

I'm not a "foodie" but I enjoy cooking and finding great new restaurants to check out. I think that I may be the happiest when making a pasta out of whats left in the cupboard and sharing a bottle of red wine.
The six things I could never do without
Music, friendship, coffee, bicycling, travel, wine
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I spend a lot time thinking about many things, more then one at a time and more then could be crammed into this little box.
On a typical Friday night I am
Chilling out. making dinner. Maybe going out for a drink and a show or hanging out at home listening to music and playing card games with friends.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
You should message me if
... you're interested in music and art but are also up for a bottle of cheap wine and bad tv sometimes. I'm an easy going guy, love to talk and laugh and if you're looking for someone to spend time with and possibly make a connection let me know.