58 Manhattan, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm a writer, activist, and historian. I've lived in Europe and traveled to South Asia and Central America but my cat and I have built a life here in NYC. I would love to share this with someone interesting, passionate, and compassionate. Some of the things I enjoy include discussing philosophy over a glass of wine, sharing a good meal and/or a thought provoking movie.
What I’m doing with my life
I give walking history tours of NYC. I'm involved in progressive politics and I enjoy socializing with friends.
I’m really good at
The first things people usually notice about me
My laugh, and fedora
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Arthur Schopenhauer, Franz Kafka, Graham Green
Movies: Touch of Evil, The Caine Mutiny
Plays: Evita, Candide, Les Misérable
Food: Turkish and Indonesian
Music: Musicals, Folk, and nostalgia
The six things I could never do without
My cat
Friends and Family
Eating Out
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Human rights, philosophy, history, and social justice. Although I am usually in political agreement with atheists, I am a returned Catholic after practicing Buddhism for 25 years and studying Sufism.
On a typical Friday night I am
Going to a play, having a drink with my friends as part of my post-doctoral research on Manhattan's historic dive bars, or pretending I can sing show tunes at Marie's Crises in the Village.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
While I enjoy the good life, I am not rich and do not aspire to be rich. If I won the Lotto, I would spend 90% of it on good causes and political activism. The rest on travel.
You should message me if
If I sound like someone you would share a glass of wine with, contact me.