37Greenville, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I relocated from Atlanta to Greenville in March and quickly met someone I'm involved with, so I'm no longer looking for dates. However, I'm definitely looking to build a social circle. Feel free to contact me for common interests especially hiking, biking, beginner-level tennis , live music, theater etc.
I will leave the rest of my summary here although the relationship bits are obviously moot...

As far as a relationship goes, I generally know what I want and I try to be good about communicating that. I think life should be enjoyed, but part of my enjoyment is working hard to give back to others. I feel very fortunate to have what I have, and try to bring a sense of gratitude to each day. I like to be very active and typically have a very busy life, but I love downtime so I work to keep those in balance. (Guess I'm a true libra!)

Some people are artsy, some are bookish, some are athletic. And some, like me, love it all! One of my favorite cliches is that 'variety is the spice of life'... A few more interests I should add, as I would love to share them with my partner: outdoor activities, travel (local and int'l) ; cooking/dining out.... that is, any opportunity to eat good things!! Reading... live music.... coffeehouses.

Some adjectives others have used to describe me are:
smart, tasteful, articulate, professional, loyal, thoughtful, good listener, hard worker, funny. (That last one is interesting, since other people find me too serious... oh well.) Others I would add: creative, open, accepting, very liberal, informed.

And let's be honest, I can't be ALL wonderful right... so here are some things I consider weaknesses: somewhat competitive, don't always keep my apartment as tidy as I would like it to be; a bit gullible. I can be pretty spacey and do some pretty stupid stuff, like locking my keys in my car. I can be stubborn, too.
What I’m doing with my life
I work in the nonprofit field, and have had a lot of turnover in these recent, lean years. The silver lining is that I have learned a lot from so much change and challenge, become a stronger person, and found my niche: fundraising. My work gives me a very real sense of mission and purpose.

On the side, I do grants consulting and am experimenting with some creative writing.
I’m really good at
Exploring! Whether its a new place, a new topic or idea, a new skill or activity... I love to learn and try new things. Im also a good cook, a skilled writer, and talented with foreign languages, of which Ive studied several. And to throw in something different, I have ridden horses since childhood so I am quite good at that.
The first things people usually notice about me
It seems people;s first impression of me is usually "she's quiet" or "she seems really smart". I would attribute that to the fact that I usually like to take in a new environment/new people before I speak up too much, and generally speak only when I have something worthwhile to say. I also read a lot, which probably contributes to the smart thing. Other women will often compliment my taste in clothing and jewelry, for what thats worth.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books- Pope Joan; Hard Times Require Furious Dancing; The Secret Life of Bees; The Creative CLass; Nickel and Dimed; books by the Heath brothers, Jared DIamond, and Malcolm Gladwell.
Movies- American Beauty; Life is Beautiful; A Single Man; Dead Man Walking, The Kids are Alright, Juno
Shows- I try to limit my TV. The only thing I watch regularly is the evening news, sometimes 60 Mins or CBS' Sunday Morning broadcast.
Music- runs the gamut, but especially folk, folk rock and jazz. Florence and the Machine, Joshua Redman, Gillian Welch, Mumford and Sons, Townes van Zandt, The Civil Wars, David Berkeley, Anna and Elizabeth.
Food- all over the place here too. Im Italian so I love that food, but there is very little I wont eat so long as its quality stuff. I try to keep it fairly healthy most of the time, too. Love my fruits and veggies!
Six things I could never do without
Fresh air and sunshine! I love to be outdoors.
Good books... preferably with hot tea and maybe chocolate!
My family: mom, dad, sister, two brothers, and 5 nieces/nephews
Opportunities to learn new things- I have a very inquisitive mind.
Good food, preferably in good company.
My kitty cat!
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Creativity and creative pursuits. I recently completed an Artists' Way workshop (google it) and I want to make more space in my life for my artistic interests, whether it's my own writing or (attempts at) drawing, or going out to arts and cultural events. If you take me to the theater, opera, symphony, gallery opening or a concert I'll love you for it!! I also think a lot about current events and social phenomena, which I find very interesting.
On a typical Friday night I am
Friday nights are my lazy nights. At the end of a busy week, I like to chill out at home with a good meal and maybe a movie or a book. On a nice evening, happy hour drinks with friends on a cool patio somewhere would be great too! Im not too much of a party girl, but as I hinted above I love the fine arts and events like that-- gallery tours, poetry readings, plays, symphony, concerts etc.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I am introverted, though it surprises a lot of people to hear this. I'm apparently quite good at appearing extroverted. But then, I sometimes test pretty close to the middle of the spectrum. Nonetheless, I have a lot of classic introvert traits, such as needing time to myself to decompress, and preferring intimate gatherings to large groups.
You should message me if
you are passionate about living your life, exploring the world, meeting a fantastic person and building something great together. ...if you are open-minded, progressive, have an intellectual and/or artistic side, and if you enjoy a variety of activities and places to go. You should also be a man who lives his life according to his values and goes after what he wants, rather than just "getting by" day to day.
The two of us