30 Brighton, United Kingdom
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Okay, so I've decided writing out long lists might not be the most apporachable way of writing a profile, so I'm going with paragraphs this time.

I'm Kat, I'm a polyamourous queer nonbinary person in Brighton, I'm also trans & intersex. My pronouns are 'they/them/their'[1]. I'm pretty vegan, and entirely vegetarian. I'm currently a freelancer web developer/IT person, I'm also a qualified body piercer. I have a fair amount of piercings myself, and a couple of tattoos.

I'm generally a nerdy-geeky-thing. Video games, table top roleplaying games (the kind with dice and books), board games, card games, I watch a lot of TV and I read when I can.

I'm a feminist and an activist and I will rant at your for hours if the mood takes me. I'm also an immigrant and I fall somewhere on the anticapitalist spectrum (anarchafeminist maybe? I need to do some reading...) Yes, I do think basically everything assumed to be binary is actually a spectrum. Yes, I have tumblr. And I like to pretend I can take photos, draw, cook, write and do a variety of other things I'm not very good at. Actually, I'm probably not that bad at writing. I have a handful of pets - a cat, a dog and a rabbit (which are pretty much the nonbinary of the pet world, right?!), and possibly am getting another rabbit in the near future.

[1] They, gender-neutral pronoun. Example: "Where is Kat?" "They want to the shop to get themself some vegan icecream to eat at their party tonight.". See also: http://they.me.uk
What I’m doing with my life
Apparently, I have a Computer Engineering degree, but that's entirely boring. I'm a freelance web developer/IT consultant. I can also do body piercing. I've also tried to do a part-time psychology course, because fuck Computer Engineering, but that didn't go so well and was too expensive anyway. Considering taking a course in Mental Health Nursing or similar, but I'm not sure if I have the money for that yet or not. My partner & I also run a non-profit app development brand called Queer Apps. :)

I have also recently moved to Brighton, this is a huge improvement from Kent, but I really could do with some friends around here and knowing where's good to hang out - if you can help with either or both of these, please do.
I’m really good at
Making technology go, not paying for things, putting holes in people, fixing things with duct tape and rubber bands, writing lengthy profile text and/or blog posts that no one wants to or will (or even should) read. Playing Pokemon, and other video games that I don't have time for.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm ginger, so the bright red hair probably comes first. Followed shortly by my accent (American, weaker, but not gone yet). Also, piercings. And the fact that I look like a cross between girly boy in makeup and a really butch girl most of the time - when I'm doing it right.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Science fiction, fantasy, spec-fic. Most recent favourite authors are Philip Dick and Cory Doctorow, although the list is obviously much longer than that. eBooks have rekindled (no pun intended) my love for reading, although I still own and buy lots of paper books.

TV: Sherlock, Torchwood, Doctor Who, Star Trek (esp. Voyager), IT Crowd, Fawlty Towers, Father Ted, Black Books, Stargate SG-1 & Atlantis, Come Dine with Me, Pokemon Indigo League. Poirot, Hyperdrive, Red Dwarf, Orphan Black, Community, Steven Universe, Adventure Time... It's a long list. If it even vaguely fits in with the rest of the stuff on this list, I probably like it. If it has a fan following on Tumblr, it's most likely something I like. Yeah, I'm one of them.

Movies: Much the same. Science Fiction, Fantasy, etc etc. not to mention romantic comedies and silly emotional stuff.

Music: I really lose track of this cause I listen to so much crap. Okay, I'm just gonna go with a selection of my top and recent artists from my music app: Schmekel, Within Temptation, Patrick Wolf, Linkin Park, Kimya Dawson, Amanda Palmer, Nightwish, IAMX, Aphex Twin, Röyksopp, Courtney Barnett, Ghost Mice, E-type, I Blame Coco, Little Boots, Amy MacDonald and many, many many more. Tbh, have a look at: http://www.last.fm/user/cmantito

Food: I like most vegan things. I tend to prefer spicy foods. Tofu is amazing. Vegan pizza with Violife cheese is wonderful. Stir-fries are gorgeous. Instant ramen means I can eat when I'm poor, which makes it pretty fucking brilliant to me.
The six things I could never do without
All my pets, which includes my partners (arguably I'm their pet but you know that wouldn't fit the joke as well)
Coffee and caffeine in a variety of forms, I'm pretty addicted (like, really.)
Making lists of things.
My piercings.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Gender, sexuality, society, technology, feminism, life, food, clothes, my friends, what I'm going to do at the weekend, what I'm going to do during the week, sexy/cute people, the cute picture of a cat that just scrolled by on tumbr... and so on.
On a typical Friday night I am
This can wildly vary. Watching Netflix while drinking? Going out and drinking? Going out and not drinking? Watching Netflix and not drinking? I don't know.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
A fair few fetishes. But, I feel my use of the word fetish employs it's technical definition in a lot of ways.

Also, mental health stuff is fun. But I'm largely dealing & coping with it.
You should message me if
You are bored of the cishet-dominated-patriarchy, you're cute (even if you don't really believe it), you want to take me to cool places in Brighton and show me around, you want to drink coffee or alcohol or some combination thereof, you want to play a nerdy game or watch TV. Bonus points for any combination of the above.