48Fairfax, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I was born and raised in the suburbs of Chicago, so pizza is deep dish, carbonated beverages are called pop, and this is the year for the Cubs.

I am a geek, a nerd, a dork. I went to a small technical college just outside of Boston, and have been a design engineer since I graduated. I like good science fiction, and I enjoy medieval entertainment as well.

Although I have lived more of my life in the Virginia suburbs than I did in Chicago, I can not root for any DC area sports team. To this day I still consider myself a transplanted Chicagoan, although I know I will probably never live there again.
What I’m doing with my life
Last year the medium size company for which I was working was purchased by a very large company. Shortly after that I went to work for a very small company (I am employee number 5, although we are up to 15 now and continuing to grow). So I spend a good bit of time helping grow the company by developing products.

Outside of my job, my life is split between being a part time single parent and being a part time single. I think I'm doing pretty well at the parent part and not so much at the single part.

I enjoy doing things outdoors, when I have the time. I like skiing, hiking, and sailing. I recently started riding a motorcycle, so I'm trying to enjoy that while simultaneously keeping myself alive. Next on my list is scuba diving, followed by sky diving.

I try to get to the gym multiple times each week, because I know I need to loose some weight.
The first things people usually notice about me
I have been told I look like Nicolas Cage. Or Jerry Seinfeld. Or Steve Carell. I am trying to figure out if any of those are meant as compliments. I have also been told I have Paul Newman's eyes (insert Hot Shots reference).
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
For someone as positive and upbeat an I am, I tend to like my entertainment dark. Typically things that explore the human condition when put under the stress of the pending apocalypse. Movies/show like Children of Men, Twelve Monkeys, The Walking Dead, District 9, Jericho, Battlestar Galatica. I have been told I should read The Road, but that seems a little too cheerful for me.

My music taste hasn't progress much since the mid 90's, and even then I tended to like more class rock. I like The Doors, the Stones, and of course Zepplin and Floyd. From the 80's I like The Police and Rush. I got into some of the grunge craze in the 90's, but I haven't really found anything decent since then. I will occasionally go see Chris Smither in concert when he stops by Wolftrap. And one of my DC friends will sometimes drag me out to 9:30 or the Black Cat to see an old punk band.

As far as food goes, the more exotic the better. I could do without the Olive Gardens and Fridays of the world. Mexican (at least a good Mexican place) is a bare minimum, any asian, Indian, central american, Turkish, Ethiopian all work for me.
Six things I could never do without
My daughter
The opportunity to temporarily escape from technology
Colored pens
My collection of ironic tee shirts
My daughter
On a typical Friday night I am
I wouldn't say I have a real typical routine on Friday nights. Half the time my daughter is with me and we have quiet nights at home. The other half the time I might go into the district to hang out with some friends I have there, or I might go to a happy hour with friends from work, or I might go see a movie, or I might just stay in and relax.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I once shaved my head to see what my scalp would look like when I eventually go bald.
The two of us