keith_duncan
27 Brunswick, Australia
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
keith_duncan
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I’m originally from Aberdeen, Scotland. I love visiting new cities and spending time outdoors.

I lived in Brighton, England for five years. I left England in 2015 to visit friends in Australia and decided to stay.

Sports and training are a big part of my life. I try to rock climb outside as much as I can, otherwise you’ll find me bouldering, strength training or cycling. The best thing about climbing is the interesting people you meet along the way.

I’m an Infrastructure Engineer for a software company and work remotely, so long as I have an Internet connection I’m good to go. I typically have a stack of books that I’m trying to work through, but that doesn’t stop me buying and starting new ones faster than I can finish the ones I already have.

I like to travel regularly, last year I went somewhere new every two out of three months on average. This year I’m looking to spend a little more time in one place or find someone to travel with me.
What I’m doing with my life
I’ve landed in Melbourne for the time being. I’ve found a good group of friends so I’ll probably be here for a while.

I’m working towards my mountaineering goals, expanding the range of foods I eat and cook, learning what I can and meeting new people.

I’m enjoying work, I get to solve new problems every day and work with talented colleagues that challenge me. I’m trying not to over work and to spend my time experiencing new things.
I’m really good at
Problem solving, analysing complex systems, taking things apart and (usually) putting them back together.

Planning expeditions, knowing which way north is at any given time.

Learning the rules to new games. I’m trying to get good at the board game Go. I love to spend an evening playing a couple of games and discussing things.
The first things people usually notice about me
I’m a quiet listener, who likes to hear what you’ve got to say first while considering my own opinion.

My eyes.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I mostly read sci-fi; Ian M. Banks is easily my favourite author. The Algebraist and Excession would be my top picks. I’ve recently started reading Neil Stephenson and Alastair Reynolds.

The Dark Knight, Inception, Interstellar – basically anything by Christopher Nolan. Up, The Social Network, 500 days of Summer, Primer.

House, Boston Legal, Grey’s Anatomy, Dr Who, Sherlock, Modern Family, House of Cards, Orange is the new Black, Archer, Game of Thrones.

Robyn, The Sounds, Dragonette, Daft Punk, Led Zeppelin, Madonna, Vampire Weekend, Shiny Toy Guns, CSS, Hans Zimmer, Tycho.

Italian Pizza. Mexican Tacos. Really, really good fish, nowhere comes close to how good we can get it back home in Aberdeen, fresh caught and fried that day. Steak, Japanese Wagu in particular.
The six things I could never do without
• Climbing
• Cycling
• Books
• Something to play my music on and plenty of music to play
• Coffee
• Friends to enjoy the above with
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What I’m going to do next; my next project, my next book, my next adventure, planning my next trip, my next climb.

I can get absorbed in a single problem at work unable to move on before I solve it. I also love to talk about it and sound ideas out.
On a typical Friday night I am
Reading a book in a local bar or the bath.

Training or already recovering from the training of the week prior.

Cooking.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Nothing. Deal with it.
You should message me if
You’re keen to do something one evening or at the weekend.

You’re looking for a climbing or mountaineering partner.
More