45Saint Paul, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
My divorce has given me a new lease on life, and I will not waste this opportunity to lead a happy, fulfilled life. I am a "glass half full" type of person, good at finding the silver linings in the crud that life can toss our way. I am always striving to improve the quality of my science teaching. I really, really want to start cross-country skiing. Isn't that supposed to make the winters here more bearable? My goal is to not lose myself and my interests in motherhood, but to still raise happy, secure and loved children. I rely on pumpkin-flavored lattes to treat myself in the colder months.

Unique stuff about me:
I've lived among six cultures and in seven U.S. states, and am now thrilled to be settled in Minnesota. Though I am caucasian, I grew up on an American Indian reservation and was terrified of white people for some years. The culture shock I endured as a child has made me a deeper, more empathetic, and more observant person than I may have been otherwise. I was the high school state basketball tournament queen and a foreign exchange student. I am an environmentalist at heart, and try my best to live green. I am exceptional at laughing at myself. There are certain foods that change my mood. I have ruined key moments in several thriller movies for other movie-goers. So, out of respect for others and for preservation of my sanity, I do not watch scary films. Except for this behavior in theaters, I'm not scared to make a fool of myself.

I love to sing and am in a well-known local choir. Singing lifts me with endorphins. I enjoy cooking, especially baking. I decompress with a book, hike, bike ride, yoga, TV, or the internet. Photography and crafting are interesting. I love Netflix, especially in the winter, and have got a thing for trees, year-round.

Who I'm looking for:
A man who is mature, unselfish, honest, a good communicator, fun, intelligent, down-to-earth, open-minded, passionate, compassionate, and who enjoys cultural events, the outdoors, and maybe even travel. Ideally, he is musical, or at least appreciates a musical variety. He is loyal, empathetic, reflective, good with kids, and has a college degree. He pushes my comfort zone and enjoys experiencing life versus simply following life's routines. He'll be a good listener, but will not be afraid to tell me if I need to wrap it up. He'll make me laugh and will occasionally make my jaw drop with shock. I want to share a deep connection and laugh and cuddle often with my guy. I am hoping to find a man who will be my fun and loving companion many years down the road.
What I’m doing with my life
Raising my elementary-aged children (2), teaching middle school science, choir rehearsals & performances, enjoying spending time with friends and family.
I’m really good at
reading people.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books & Authors:
Ishmael, Prodigal Summer, Animal Farm, Winter World, Silent Spring, The DaVinci Code... Barbara Kingsolver, Richard Dawkins, Nicholas Sparks... lots of science stuff.

Musical taste:
On the radio, I listen to NPR and mainly The Current and 97.1 for music. Classical music has been finding its way into my house more and more. I am a sucker for the 80s, and really a sucker for Bon Jovi. Brandi Carlisle, Adele, Sweet Honey, Joan Baez, Bruce Springsteen, spirituals, and The Wailin' Jennys are my inspirations for my pandora.com radio stations. I was raised listening to a lot of 60s and Irish tunes, and those remain close to my heart. I enjoy singing a range of styles, but my favs are folk and opera music. I'm discovering that there's a lot of other music out there that I like, so my tastes are getting more broad.

Shawshank Redemption, Something the Lord Made (true story about the first open-heart surgery and the racism/sexism that existed), The Count of Monte Cristo, The Red Violin, Dances with Wolves, Braveheart, Matrix, Saving Private Ryan, Hoosiers, Roxanne, Bend it Like Beckham, Lord of the Rings, Whale Rider...

Not too picky. Love Thai and Indian the most. Enjoy trying new things.
Six things I could never do without
My kids
Fresh air
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
My friends think it's hilarious that this site categorizes me as "less geeky."
The two of us