krsd99
41 Phoenix, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
krsd99
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I moved from Upper Michigan (the land of snow and dog sleds... no seriously they really have dog sled races ) out to AZ for school back in the fall of 95. I always intended on moving away soon as I graduated, but kept getting better jobs here. I own my own house and am perpetually working (or planning) some project or another.

I graduated from school with a BA, and refuse to go back to school at least until I pay off my existing student loans. I have a career developing educational software, and enjoy it both for the work and the end result.

I'm a single dad, and have my son most of the time. It limits my options for getting out a bit, but I love having him and wouldn't trade it. That said, his mom is still in his life and watches him from time to time. Our relationship is mostly limited to where he is concerned and is mostly drama free at this point.

I believe in opening doors for others, and like helping friends who are moving, though I may still be a bit envious of those who are moving out of state.

I love camping, swimming, and biking and don't get to do either near enough, and have enjoyed wall climbing, ice climbing, white water rafting, scuba diving, and canoeing among many other outdoor activities and would love to find someone to share doing all of it and more. Recently I have added kayaking and sailing to this list, though I have a lot to learn about both.

I'm looking for:
She should like reading, board games (RPG's are a definite plus), going to the movies, going out to talk over coffee, and just going for a walk.

She should be intelligent, a bit nerdy, adventurous, and like to be active. She should like animals, especially dogs, and kids at least enough to be all right with my having a son.

Have a sense of direction in her life and not be into head games or drama. Someone who is straight forward, direct, and honest is a huge plus.
What I’m doing with my life
I've went to school and received my degree (BA in Multimedia with a specialty in Virtual Reality if you are curious), and am now working on furthering my career and life.

I work creating educational software, which basically means I spend most of my day programing and working with other programmers, editors, and content specialists of various types to create software. The details of that tend to make most people's eyes glaze over pretty quickly (though maybe not quite so quickly if you are in the education field as well), so I try to avoid talking about it unless someone asks.

Aside from work, I spend my "spare" time working on improvements to my house, studying martial arts, and trying to keep up with a four year old boy. :)
I’m really good at
I have been told that I am very approachable about pretty much anything, and happy to teach others if they want to learn. I also apparently work pretty well with others and am good at bridging the gap between different groups which is not generally expected of someone in my field.

Oh, and I have only one rule about questions: Be sure you want to know. Because I will answer, and it will be truthful. I am happy to answer any questions you want to ask though.
The first things people usually notice about me
Simple answer: That I currently have long hair, and my eyes since they often change color.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Currently reading: I've mostly been reading Jim Butcher and Kim Harrison this year, but am about out of new books in their series. When it comes to things I am reading for my own entertainment I prefer interesting settings and characters, and an interesting plot that can evolve as it goes. I tend to stick to fiction as I tend to get enough non-fiction reading to do for work.

Favored Authors: Roger Zelazny, Jim Butcher, Fred Sagerhagen, Tad Williams, Kim Harrison, Laurrell K. Hamilton, Robert Heinlein, and Glen Cook.

Movies I am looking forward to: My son is just getting to the point where we can go to the movies together and get through them without too many distractions, so we have been getting out more often, and I have oddly been managing to find time to get out and see some movies that I wouldn't want to take him to as well, though taking someone else would be a welcome change...

Favored Movies: Firefly/Serenity, Harry Potter, Batman Begins/ Dark Knight, The Lord of the Rings (LoTR), Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon, Avengers (Iron Man, etc), V for Vendetta, Gross Pointe Blank, Indiana Jones, Avatar, Pump up the Volume, Atlantis, anything that Miyazaki is involved with (Castle in the Sky, Naussicaa, Kiki's Delivery Service, Howl's Moving Castle, etc), among others.

Current TV shows: Arrow, Big Bang Theory, Castle, Continuum, Doctor Who (new one), Lost Girl, Suits, Supernatural, and White Collar.

I'm generally willing to give any sci-fi show a chance, but am not big on slapstick comedy or things like the Office, or SNL. That type of humor just does not appeal to me. [shrugs]

Cancelled TV shows I liked while they lasted: Stargate (all), Due South, Chuck, Farscape.
The six things I could never do without
1. My son
2. Sasha (My 7 year old Puppy)
3. Water (snow, rain, lakes etc... yeah I know I live in a desert now...)
4. Greenery. Trees, plants and other stuff alive and preferably without thorns.
5. Friends and family.
6. A meaningful job and work that can have a real impact and that I can be proud of.

I have managed without each of these in the past and survived, but have no desire to do so again.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to communicate things better, how to simplify things that are innately complex, and identifying what is really an improvement vs a goal/process that has become more of a check-mark than something of value.

How education can be done better, and how to help teachers more.

Also, how I could move to Seattle, and what that would take to actually do.
On a typical Friday night I am
Recovering from the week, thankful for the weekend. These days I tend to be doing little mini-projects around the house or doing a round of chores that fell behind through the week. If chores are all caught up, after I get my son to bed I may play video games, or watch a movie/tv, or end up reading.

If a sitter can be arranged, and someone I know is up for it, a movie, or getting together to talk over the warm beverage of choice isn't out of the question.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Not having a pool is one of the biggest losses that I encountered when I bought my house and moved out of apartment living. With all the other disappointments in the housing market over the past several years I sometimes regret that decision... but on the bright side by owning a house I can have pets.
You should message me if
You read this far, and are interested or curious. Curiosity is definitely a good thing. You are:
Intelligent
Self confident
Likes dogs
Likes kids
More