32Royal Oak, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I think it's important to say up front that I currently have a boyfriend who is my primary partner. His profile is Thom88. We've have an open relationship for the past six months, and we're currently giving poly a try. I'm not a monogamous person, and I'll probably never be a monogamous person, so if you're looking for a monogamous commitment you should probably look elsewhere.

I consider myself bisexual (or pansexual, whichever. I'm just as interested in people who are trans/genderqueer as I am in cis people). I currently have a wonderful boyfriend, but I'd be interested in meeting new people both for friendship and sex. I consider myself to be pretty kinky. While I wouldn't turn down someone who isn't kinky, I definitely prefer some element of kink in my relationships.

I like reading, writing, learning to play music (I've never really gotten the hang of it), and playing all kinds of games. I'm especially fond of fighting games such as BlazBlue, P4A, Guilty Gear, MvC3, and SF4. I have a BA in Computer Science and Japanese. I haven't really done much with the Japanese since then, and I'm a bit sad about that.

I'm a skeptic and an atheist. I love listening to The Skeptic's Guide to the Universe. I think science is awesome, and I love technology.

I'm a vegetarian, and quite serious about it, but not evangelical. I just finished working at a job as a soup cook at a restaurant, and I still enjoy cooking (although sometimes I make weird practically inedible things as experiments).
What I’m doing with my life
I'm pretty new to Royal Oak, and I'm working at a job doing web programming. I'm not sure where my career is headed yet; I'm still searching for what I want to do.

I'm one of those people that gets obsessed with hobbies for short periods of time and then drops them for new obsessions. I'm currently just getting back into rock climbing, so if anyone's interested in joining me for some sessions at Planet Rock, let me know.
I’m really good at
Programming and learning. I'm great at picking up the basics of new things really quickly. I have a bit of a short attention span, so I'm constantly moving from thing to thing.

I've also been told that I'm good at teaching. I'm skeptical, although it's something that I enjoy doing.
The first things people usually notice about me
No idea. I'd have to ask somebody.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Neil Gaiman, China Miéville, and John Scalzi are some of my favorite authors. I've been reading Ancillary Justice lately, and I'm loving it. I want to read more science fiction and fantasy books that have an element of sexual or gender transgression, so if you have any recommendations on that score I'd love to hear about them.

I've fallen off the webcomic bandwagon lately, but I guess it might be relevant to note that I'm still a bit of a Homestuck.

I like indie movies with dry humor. Hanabi is one of my favorite movies, and so are Life Aquatic and Saved. I love anything that Jean-Pierre Jeunet has made, especially Amélie. Also, The Prestige is amazing.

I also like non-epic fantasy movies. Stardust and The Princess Bride are my favorites. I also like Pan's Labyrinth and Labyrinth, but I secretly don't like Dark Crystal near as much as everyone else seems to.

The Killers, Ben Folds, and Amanda Palmer are some of my go tos. I have a general weakness for piano+vocals. I've been listening to All Songs Considered lately to try to expand my music horizons a bit. I'm really excited about the return of Sleater-Kinney.

I have to list magazines on here, just so that I can mention Coilhouse. It has great art and great articles. I am sad that it is over.
Six things I could never do without
My Boyfriend,
My computer
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I've been spending a lot of time thinking about issues of gender and sexism lately. I think our society has some really messed up views on gender. I don't know if I would call myself a feminist, but I strongly support a lot of feminist positions, and I think issues of gender equality are some of the most important facing us today.

I also feel frustrated by the continued racism in this country. If you think that being "colorblind" is a good solution to racism, if you think that police violence against black people in this country is justified, if you are in favor of voter id laws, or if you think that white people are the real oppressed minority, I don't want to talk to you.
On a typical Friday night I am
You're pretty likely to catch me either playing board games or hanging out with kinky friends at a bar. Sometimes, though, I just like to stay in and take it easy.
You should message me if
I'm kinky, non-monogamous, and bisexual. I'm just starting out on the road to Polyamory. I have a boyfriend, and I'm not looking to get out of that relationship. If none of that bothers you, I'd love to hear from you.

I'm interested in making new friends since I just moved to the area. I'd love to hear from people that just want to make friends, although I'd appreciate it if you would let me know that's what you're looking for right off the bat. I'm also looking for another climbing partner for indoor climbing.

I'm also interested in a secondary poly relationship, a friends with benefits relationship, or in casual sex. Since I have a boyfriend, I'm a bit more interested in women than men right now. I'm more interested in a poly relationship or fwb than casual sex right now, but I'm open to it. I'm more interested in people who are non-monogamous right now; I'd like it if there were some chance of the relationship lasting for a while.
The two of us