66 Cambridge, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Think of a mix between east coast and west coast. I was born and raised in Northern California, but moved to Vermont, then Cambridge permanently in 1986. I have the joie de vivre and generosity of spirit of a Californian, but the work ethic and seriousness of a New Englander. People commonly ask why I ever journeyed east: "I wanted my environment to make demands on me," I'd say. It seemed ridiculous that I could walk outside without a coat in mid-November. And, of course, generations of New Englanders are in the family, so there was something of a historic pull. I spent my first career as a child development specialist, dropped out, climbed mountains and trained for expeditions for several years (supporting self in entertainment law in L.A.) before moving east to pursue another graduate degree, teach middle school, and eventually in 2000 start my own tutoring and consulting practice. I gave up mountaineering and rock climbing for cycling in the mid-80's. Now I think about how to trim back my practice so I can resume courses in the classics, study Italian and Spanish, and travel to classical sites -- Greece and Turkey -- as well as adventure travel -- Kilimanjaro, Nepal, Bhutan. I still want to know what it's like to think in another language before I leave this planet.

I never married or had children. First, I never found a partner with whom I wanted to spend the rest of my life, and second, I didn't want to be a mother, even though I am patient and generous with my students. Unlike children, they are not full-time. I am also a blend between an introvert who likes alone time to read, think, putter, and an extravert who enjoys socializing, conversing, listening, and, of course, humor.
What I’m doing with my life
Tutoring high school and college students in English, history, Latin; consulting for a Boston Montessori School; staying fit and training for upcoming cycling season and a trek to Everest Base Camp and Kilimanjaro. Also, spending time with friends, staying current w/ politics, getting the laundry done.
I’m really good at
Being kind, resourceful and giving; having a balanced life; staying healthy, being curious and open-minded;
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
For authors: Sophocles, Homer, Twain, E.B. White, Wendell Berry, J.R.R Tolkien, Christopher Hitchens, Barbara Tuchman, Bill Bryson
For books: all the usual suspects: Huck Finn, Great Gatsby, Things They Carried, Out Stealing Horses, Remains of the Day, etc., etc.
For historians: Gordon Wood, David Potter
Film: The Lives of Others; Out of Africa; The Great Beauty; To Kill a Mockingbird; watching Fred Astaire and Gene Kelly dance.
Food: everything except beets, lima beans, and liver, but mostly vegetarian. Never pass up excellent food.
The six things I could never do without
NYT, Wash Post, NYer & Harper's (esp. Harper's Index)
Exercise (cycling, hiking, yoga, walking, climbing, whatever)
Morning tea
My friends
My sanity
I spend a lot of time thinking about
what's next
On a typical Friday night I am
visiting with friends; watching a movie, reading, or enjoying a glass of wine at the end of the week.
You should message me if
you are politically liberal, have a curious mind, a sense of humor about life, and are ambulatory.