41 Alameda, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am passionate about more things than I could possibly list here. Some of them include art (I come from a family of artists), travel (Latin America, Morocco, around the US), new kinds of food, my dog, my awesome friends and church community, and justice. I love trying new things: flamenco dance, jazz music, different art forms, travel... I was a teacher in the inner city for 8 years and am absolutely passionate about social justice and children who are underprivileged/oppressed/needy/at-risk. I am working on writing a book about my time teaching in Oakland and am alternately terrified and excited about the process. The most important thing in my life is my Christian faith. Although I'm still a work in progress -- as we all are -- I do my best to love Jesus and my neighbor.
What I’m doing with my life
teaching, reading, volunteering, writing, taking my dog to the beach, and trying to make a difference in the life of kids who need a difference made.
I’m really good at
-Speaking out around social justice issues.
-Teaching and reaching kids with different learning styles.
-Having fun and being funny!
-Traveling, especially in Spanish-speaking countries.
-Also finding typos and editing other people's mistakes.
The first things people usually notice about me
I tend to be passionate, opinionated, and articulate about what I believe in or enjoy. Sometimes this gets me into trouble but often it helps me convey what I think is most important. When I was teaching at an urban school, this trait helped me get immense amounts of volunteers, supplies, field trips, etc. for the kids.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I read almost anything I can get my hands on. I love thoughtful blogs, historical fiction, Anne Lamott, cheesy mysteries, novels set all over the world so I can escape for a little while, and more.

Food: Thai, Moroccan, Mexican, Japanese, Ethiopian... now I'm getting hungry...
The six things I could never do without
-my faith
-my dog
-a "next place" to travel
-my friends
-an Internet connection
I spend a lot of time thinking about
injustice, God, love, family, friends, economic inequality, anything I read about, travel, the list just goes on and on...
On a typical Friday night I am
spending time with good friends.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I enjoy changing my hair color. Usually it stays pretty close to my natural shade but it's been blue a couple of times.
You should message me if
you're willing to email in complete sentences and say something of substance.