ladyborg
33 Baltimore, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
ladyborg
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Personality wise, I am down to earth, outgoing, compassionate and lively, honest to a fault and competitive with myself. I enjoy the simple things in life and I try live in the moment while somehow planning for the future. I enjoy learning about new things and I would love to meet someone that I could buy and use livingsocial coupons with (skydiving?kayaking?) after meeting each other a few times.

The qualities I value most in a person are modesty, benevolence, generosity of spirit and overall good cheer. Some things that make me go rubbery in the knees are a mechanical mind (which I lack), weathered hands and good manners. Although I love being spontaneous (esp. daytrips to the beach) I'm interested in someone who is seeking a partnership as well as a lover--someone to get to know, have fun with and build upon each other's strengths.

My son is 8 years old and of course, handsome and charming but it just feels too strange for me to post his photo here on a dating site especially since I prefer to get to know you before you get a chance to meet him as I am sure you can understand.
What I’m doing with my life
In my free evenings, I love going out dancing as well as attending theatrical performances, live music and quirky workshops that give me a glimpse, taste or experience of something new or unfamiliar. When the weather is warm, I enjoy kayaking, hiking or swimming. I'm a sun worshipper but definitely not a fitness militant. As a newly single woman, I also have a lot more time to read which is really nice!

Professionally, I work day shift as a psychiatric nurse in both dual diagnosis populations and general psychiatry. I have also just been accepted into the Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practice doctoral program at University of Maryland to start in Fall 2016. I read somewhere that a doctoral degree is a strike against women in the dating world. I hope that's not true... :( I'm passionate about my work serving mental health populations but I always prioritize my loved ones in balancing my personal life with my professional goals.

As a mom, I'm lucky to have a strong community of other parents that I enjoy laughing and sharing with as well as learning from. The boys in the class have also come up with a concept of "bro-cation" which is a monthly sleepover that is hosted by a different parent each month so yeah, you know, I'm like basically a professional party planner. but for 3rd graders. ;)
I’m really good at
double entendre
living in the moment
reading people
dancing
board games
problem solving
random acts of kindness
The first things people usually notice about me
Mostly, people I am getting to know comment on my intense eye contact, humor or my happy-go-lucky attitude
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
My favorite restaurant in Baltimore is an Afghani dig called The Helmand. Currently reading about ADHD and cognitive and behavioral interventions for both kids and adults. Watching a lot of In Treatment and The Wire right now although the dialogue is a bit intense, it's not really the type of show one can watch while multitasking. My favorite singer/songwriter is Elliott Smith and I enjoy Yo La Tengo, Low etc but I like anything danceable as well. The last show I attended was Wye Oak at the BSO. Please introduce me to new music and bands. I have lots of "favorite" bands but Pandora is my music finder so well, that's that.
The six things I could never do without
I think that we can do without more than we think; it makes one resourceful. Out of necessity comes ingenuity.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
My clients and how to improve their quality of life/mental health in the face of almost insurmountable poverty.

how technology affects social rituals and productivity for better and worse.

The lack of emotional intimacy and depth in modern sexuality

my parenting prowess and lack thereof

how romance seems to have become passe
On a typical Friday night I am
Mild fridays, wild saturdays.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
TRUE CONFESSIONS:

My room consistently looks as though it has been ransacked...
I am 5'5 and 140 lbs. Weight...that's private, right?
You should message me if
You agree that first dates are about more than "drinks". I'm talking rugby games! I'm talking ice skating! I'm talking theatre! I'm talking about reclaiming the aura of a first date--silliness, adventure and the nerves of intrigue!
More