56 Los Gatos, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Short version: bounce between introvert and extrovert, curious, eclectic, kinesthetic, problem solver, learning to dance with life, abhor boredom, learning about Buddhism, and generally open minded.
Longer version: moved a lot as a kid, mostly raised in Hawaii. The adventure of life has ranged from adrenaline sports to web start-ups to deep self exploration to magical children.
I've been blessed with some amazing friends, partners, wives, 2 magic kids, and no regrets.
I suck at accepting victimy (I just made that up) perspectives. I'm largely self taught and self made and if I can do it, so can anyone else.
What I’m doing with my life
Hi level - enjoying the hell out of it.
Details - co-parenting 2 wonderful sons, working in technology, and ignoring my age. I'm getting paid to do something I enjoy.
I ride my bicycle to the office at least once/week, recently started surfing shortboards again, read voraciously, and often ask "why".
I’m really good at
Listening - remember the "curious"? I've found listening a great way to explore who you are. I'll tell you about me - but - understanding you helps me see where/how we mesh.
Touch - did you notice the "kinesthetic" in my summary? Hugs, massage, cuddling, slow sex :-)
Learning how things work - my curiosity has a purpose - I can rebuild an engine, dive into your eyes, expose my deepest fears, teach surfing, change diapers, push my body a long way, massage your feet, and match your breath.
I don't watch much TV.
The first things people usually notice about me
Blue eyes, shoulders, optimism, laughter, smiling, and my calves if it's shorts weather.
If my kids are around - eyes usually go there.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I have a reading problem....
Pema Chodron, Seth Godin, Guy Kawasaki, Robert Heinlein, Thomas Perry, David Deida, JK Rowling, Dossie Easton, and a bunch more..
Movies - at the moment these are more driven by my kids than by my interests. I'm open for almost anything except horror.
Music - all over the map. Lately I've also been listening to a lot of business books.
Food - almost any but light on the simple carbs
TV - don't actually watch TV, too much other stuff I want to do in my life
The six things I could never do without
My sons - their mom and I did an awesome job of moving through our divorce with the 2 kids as our focus going forward. She is now one of my best friends :-)
Movement - I'm slightly hyper (still) and movement is my medicine. Mountain biking, surfing, climbing, and messing around at the gym keep me sane.
My pack - close friends, confidants, partners_in_crime. This is evolving, shrinking, deepening. It's gone from the broad to the few and I'm happier
Touch - See answers 1 & 3.
Meaningful work - I'm doing what I love
Water to immerse myself in - preferably the ocean, pools work also
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to best leverage what I've learned so I spend less time on "work" and more time on "fun".
What is community - really?? Where/how do I build one?
Where and how to best help those dear to me (teaching them to fish).
The way relationships evolve, where we get crunchy, and how we move through it with curiosity, compassion, and responsibility.
And of course - how you feel, smell, sound, and move.
On a typical Friday night I am
Fridays are often kid nights.
Depending on the weather it could include biking to a movie, a swim, karting, walking into town for a bite, or just relaxing together on the couch.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
We'll have to talk.
You should message me if
Have a little courage, willing to risk connecting over coffee/tea/water/a surfboard.
Enjoy being intimate - emotionally and physically.
Have a strong sense of humor and self.